1 School 3 Generations (Part 1)

This was my Secondary School Posting result in 1974;

And this is my son’s Secondary School Posting result 32 years later;

2 choices at my time compared to the my son’s last year 6 choices – a very drastic change.

Yes, we both ended up in the same Secondary school – Victoria School, but different premises.

Even my father studied Japanese language at Victoria School (then renamed Jalan Besar Boys’ School) during the Japanese Occupation period.

My father told me that he was around Primary School age during the Japanese Occupation, so what he could recalled may be limited.

The above shows the building plan of the old Victoria School during the Japanese Occupation.

“1” was occupied by Kwong Fook Chinese School students where Chinese language were taught secretly.

“2” was occupied by the ‘Victoria School’ students where Japanese Language was taught.

“3” was occupied by Tamil students where Tamil was taught.

So basically during the Japanese Occupation, it was actually occupied by 3 different schools. Sad to say that my father only studied there for about 1yr plus and thereafter he left to work in a Japanese factory.

Yes both my father and I went to the same school too (same location – Tyrwhitt Road) and that’s Victoria School.

So it’s the same School for us 3 Generations – My Father, Myself and My Son.

Victoria School is among the oldest schools in Singapore – 131 years old. Here is the History of Victoria School.

to be continued in Part 2…

39 Responses to “1 School 3 Generations (Part 1)”


  1. 1 Chris Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 8:42 am

    Woa… u still keeping all these scrap of papers arh? I dun remember having this… but I remember the day the PSLE result was announced. I studied at the now defunct Telok Ayer Primary School. My memories on my primary school days were hazy. All I remember was I was a very lazy student and only begun to study hard in P5. So, when the teacher told us that there were only 9 passers in our classe of 40 odd kids, I was very nervous. Luckily I passed. Heheh.

  2. 3 laokokok Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Hi Chris,
    I didn’t keep them but it’s printed on the back of my Primary School Report Book. My Primary school was gone too though the building was used for other purposes. After so many years, my memory of those times were hazy too. I wonder what memory card Chun See used?

  3. 4 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    I made a comparison to the PSLE posting in my time i.e. 1966. The format was the same as yours in 1978 – word for word. They used a rubber stamp for the wordings and stamped it at the last page of the report card.

  4. 5 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, April 26, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Chris:

    I never knew what was the purpose to study for an exam. I never knew when and what was an examination until I went to Sec 1 and I saw those nerdy (dont play during recess time type, study in the library, want to sign up as a librarian only for ECA). There’s something special about those nerdy sorts.

    They seem to have the answers whenever the teacher ask them in class. They dare to look the teacher in the eye and would be the first to stick their hands up to answer the qeustion. How come I not like that?

    I only smelled something was not right only when I was hauled up by the teacher. he asked meL how come my answers so short. I said: Not Short what! Then he showed me a nerdy’s piece of work – my eye balls fell out. How come one question asked yet the answer 1 page? To me I was still thinking of MCQ type answers.

    No wonder the nerdy sort are ministers and parlimantary secretaries.

  5. 6 laokokok Friday, April 27, 2007 at 7:36 am

    Haha, frankly not all students are comfortable with long answers even if they know it. That’s probably some find it difficult to pen their thoughts down on paper.

  6. 7 a current victorian Saturday, June 30, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Hello.Its nice to meet an ex-Victorian.I hope that you could help with this year’s victoria challenge by getting the word around…

    Please Bring All Your Unwanted Educational Toys To School During Victoria Challenge For The Spastic Children’s Association of Singapore and hand it to sec 4J.Thanks ^^For more information please go to victoriawegivetoyou.blogspot.com

    Thank you very much.

  7. 8 Agnes Goh Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Hi Chris,

    I was also a former primary student of Telok Ayer Primary school. I recalled I graduated in 1977. I missed the school so much……the foot ball field, the canteen, etc.

  8. 15 Persin Wednesday, November 3, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Hi

    Me too studied at Telok Ayer Pri Sch. I past the school quite frequently. Do you guys remember that principal Mr Kwek and then followed by Mr Moey. I missed the canteen so much especially the “mee siam”.

    I want to get in touch with the teachers if they are still around. My 2nd language teacher was Cikgu Zainab, cikgu Naim N Cikgu Rashid.

    The house where the watchman family used to reside still exist.

    Missed dose days

  9. 18 Wee Toon Hee Thursday, March 31, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Hi

    Itz so good to meet u all here. I was in Telok Ayer Integrated School from 1968 to 1973. No exaggeration but though my life is good, the best times were when I was there! Right from P1 to P6.

    Can remember vividly all my form-teachers except P4: Miss Wong, Mrs Chan (was Miss See b4 she got married), Miss Ho, Miss Leow Soy Nyuk, & Mrs Lee, respectively.

    Miss Leow is my favourite of all, thatz Y I remember her full name though I cant be too sure if it is correctly spelt.

    Not forgetting the other key teachers who were not my form teachers : Mr Albert Wong ( the music conductor ), Mr De Siver, Mr Yew ( the damn fierce teacher, with due respect ).

    Hey, I cud go on & on like yes, the other things as in food like the fantastic mee-siam, the butterfly-cracker, the black glutinous rice….

    …..so i think i’m gonna set up a facebook and then everyone contributes photos there.

    Pictures paint a thousand words, u know?!!!

  10. 26 Ong Chye Kheng Saturday, April 30, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I was in Telok Ayer Pr School from 1969 to 1974. Just met 4 other friends after 36 years ( since PSLE) and we had such fun talking about the good old days .. we were all from the band and like you, remembered the teachers.. Mr Albert Wong and his curry pk hair, Mrs Lee, Ms Koh Siew Eng, My Yew the head master .. maybe you can start a blog or website and we can try and get everyone back for a reunion??

  11. 27 leow soy nyuk Friday, May 13, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Hi,

    I taught at Telok Ayer Pr. Sch. from 1966 to 1973. I managed to contact Mrs. Lee Teng Hui, Mrs. Chan(former Ms See) last year in Singapore. I now live in Henderson, Nevada, U.S.A. My parents and siblings still live in Singapore, so I do visit them once a year. I am sure glad to know that I was your favorite teacher in Telok Ayer School. Hey, You made my day…and do compliment yourself for your good memory…you correctly spelled my Hakka name. I am not computer savvy, so I may not know how to get back to this site. You can email to me your reply: leow.margaret@gmail.com

    Ms. Leow

  12. 29 Lim Ah Sang Thursday, April 12, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    Hi,
    I was from Telok Ayer Primary School too and my form teacher then was Mr Leong Har Chye (hope it’s correctly spelt) and some of my classmates were Namasilva (my badminton partner) and Abel during the years from 1963 to 1968. Anyone from those years.
    Lim Ah Sang

  13. 30 Leow. Saturday, September 1, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Hi Angie, sent u reply by email.

  14. 31 Wee Toon Hee Tuesday, September 4, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Wee Toon Hee

    10:16 AM (0 minutes ago)

    to Kenneth, Angie, margaret, Toon, andytaycheehuat
    Dear All

    It really is great that an idea of a Renunion is conceived. I am excited about it & I hope it resonates across one & all!

    Looks like we should get down to work right away. First thing first letz set a date. I suggest 20th April 2013.

    Next would be intensive networking to gather as many ex-TAIS personnels as possible & come up with an official list. If we can gather 200 it would be fantastic.

    And if indeed we hit this target, i am thinking a carnival-sort of Reunion would be appropriate as it would be so informal & fun. On my side I can already be in touch with at least 15 TAISians, includg my siblings…..

    I say we have it commencing from 5pm right through to 8pm.

    We may need to contact Singapore Land Authority (SLA) for permit. Anyone has any connection? Coincidentally PM Lee couple of weeks ago said in his National Day Rally that memories are the soul of a nation so, I reckon SLA would be more than happy to grant us access to hold a large scale reunion.

    I am gonna copy & paste this on laokokok’s page to start the networking where we all first chat after almost 40 yrs.

    Let the ball roll !

    Warmest regard.
    TAISians

  15. 32 Lim Cheng Chwee Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    I studied at Telok Ayer from 1969 to 1974 1B to 6B. Remember Mary Ang was my P1 Form teacher. I am a Pri sch Math teacher now. my class has 26 girls and 13 boys. only 3 boys proceed to Sec sch.

  16. 34 James Wong Kai Loong Saturday, November 10, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I was graduated in yr 1973. Anybody from Pri 6C? Left behind many good old memories there. Love those pranks played in the toilets and was canned by our principal Mr.Quek who all children would like to avoid. Though he no longer exist,I sort of respect n love him more when found out why he commands fear in all children’s heart. Headmaster Mr Yew was another fearsome guy there. But I never realized that I met him more than other students because I attended tuition classes which was actually conducted by his wife ‘s sister at Telok Ayer St of course..hahaha

    • 35 Angie Ong Chye Kheng Friday, December 21, 2012 at 1:06 am

      Come join our fb page – Telok Ayer Primary School or email me at angieongck@yahoo.com.sg

      Reunion scheduled for March 2013.

      Looks like we were classmates for 6 years.
      Was there a similar class P1-6 but different session then? I don’t seen to recall your name .. So sorry.

      Wong Kai Loong – we have found a few P6C students 1973. See who they are on our fb page.

    • 36 Benjamin Yeo Thursday, December 27, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      ha ha James, we attended the same tuition classes i remember now! Your mum recommended to mine! I did maths classes

  17. 37 Angie Ong Chye Kheng Friday, December 21, 2012 at 10:04 am

    I’ve created a fb group called Telok Ayer Primary School. We are planning a reunion in March 2013 before our school premises are demolished in 2013. If you are keen to be reconnected, please find us on Facebook or email me at angieongck@yahoo.com.sg

    • 38 Benjamin Yeo Thursday, December 27, 2012 at 8:45 pm

      Over the years, i have been taking photos of the school as my company used to be just opposite at capital towers!

      I vividly remember the morning glory that were planted at the fence between the school and the methodist church

  18. 39 Cassie Monday, December 31, 2012 at 10:40 am

    hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding
    this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.

    Make sure you update this again soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,003,400 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

