Memories From My Old Ang Pao

Maybe most will just clear their contents (money) and throw away the packets (ang pao). But for me, new or used, I will keep them (same as my mother). We keep the ang pao in albums, and boxes.

Here are some old ang pao that will bring back some fond memories;

At one glance, they don’t seem that old right? OK but before that, let me show you one very very old ang pao type that I’ve received when I was a few years old in the 60s;

Well the above seems like those used in funeral. But it was this type of ang pao that I received in the 60s and the amount usually like 2 5cents or 2 10cents. Close relatives usually gave more than distant ones. Some said certain dialects group gave more, I’m not too sure about that.

Some establishments still exit but some don’t in the following;

1.

This above was from Motorola. Many will remembered that Motorola is the brand that our 1st pager and handphone was. But now, there are so many brands to choose from for handphones.

2.

The younger generation may not know about this Oriental Emporium Holdings Group. They probably had more outlets (25 I think) than NTUC Fairprice then in the 70s or 80s. But one by one, they started to close down. Most town centres will have at least one Oriental Emporium like the one at Bedok Town Centre, now occupied by NTUC Fairprice.

3.

Maybe the ladies will know of this boutique shop Pisces. One of the outlets was located along Orchard Road just outside the Plaza Singapura (along the same side as McDonald House). Think these Pisces outlets are no longer around, am I right?

4.

For those interest rate hunters, Tat Lee Bank was probably one will go for in the past. Too bad, it had merged with Keppel Bank to become Keppel Tat Lee.

5.

It was an old ang pao envelope from NTUC Fairprice. Of course they are still around though the new logo already replaced the old logo above. The name NTUC was removed from the new logo (I think) and only Fairprice is used.

6.

It was so popular back then that SAFE (SAF Enterprise) branched into Travel business for the SAF personnel. I remembered I had even booked a tour to Taiwan and the price was so low that one need to be balloted. I was lucky then haha.

You may read about SAFE Trave here:

SAFE Travel

7.

Now known as M Hotel. But before that, it was also known as Copthorne Harbour View Hotel in 1995. And even well before that – Harbour View Dai-Ichi Hotel. Why all these re-naming of this hotel at Anson Road?

After doing a check on the internet, the hotel’s owner, Hong Leong Group, was legally barred from using the Millennium brand in Singapore as it could be confused with The Ritz-Carlton Millenia. So M-Hotel is ok as only the initial is used. So now, you can’t get the same ang pao with the old hotel name haha.

Before I end this post, I would like to wish all a Happy and Prosperous New Year!

14 Responses to “Memories From My Old Ang Pao”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Wah, you even keep those red paper wrappings ah? :p

    Hmm… looks like I should keep some new angpow wrappers too. Who knows, in one or two decades, those companies may no longer be around. Haha.

    Wishing you and your readers a Happy and Prosperous CNY too.

  2. 2 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Yah now I remember about this M Hotel saga. Our sister company, a market research firm was hired by the solicitors of I think Pontiac Land who owned the Ritz-Carlton Hotel. One of our director of research attended court to substantiate market research findings after interviewing taxi drivers and a segment of the population. If I am not wrong the survey concluded that indeed there was bound to be confusion over the “sound”and the learned judge accepted the survey.

  3. 3 Lam Chun See Wednesday, February 6, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Yes I remember those days when ang pows were wrapped in red paper. No wonder the Cantonese like to; “Oh it’s only a piece of red paper (hong chi)”, when they give out ang pows on non-CNY occasions and the recipients protest or decline.

  4. 4 abee Monday, February 11, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Hello!!one of my frends sent me ur blog link and m glad i came to read..worth of spendin some time to read everythin coz its really an eye opener.. m really glad i did and must appreciate u for sharing the memories with us..thank you so much and i have linked u in my blog..hope u dont mind..just want my frends to gain the knowledge that i did via your blog!! do take care and all the best!! =)

  5. 5 laokokok Tuesday, February 12, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Hi Victor,
    Happy New Year to you too! Collecting Ang Pow wrapper is like stamps, everyone tells a story.

    Hi Peter,
    You are right, it’s the pronunciation that is a concern.

    Hi Chun See,
    Hong Chi at that time, the content is very little only…remember? If there was twenty cents, it’s very good already.

    Hi Abee,
    Welcome here and pls go ahead to link. Hope you enjoy reading my blog here.

  6. 6 Xiaoting Sunday, February 24, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Hi lAOkOkOK

    My aunt is one of the ang pao collection fans!! She would like to ask whether u do have any gathering days for those ang pao collection LOVERS to share all the interesting stuff u have..

    she reali keen to share wif u all!!
    Hope to hear from you soon..

    Cheers
    Xiaoting ^^

  7. 7 laokokok Monday, February 25, 2008 at 7:03 am

    Hi Xiating,
    Thanks for dropping by my blog. Sorry to say I don’t have any gathering of such activity as I’m no member of any Ang Pao club. Anyone here know of such club?

  8. 8 saw Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    laokokok,

    if you want to join Ang Pao Club, have a try at Kreta Ayer Stamp Society, they have a sub group call Hong Bao sub group, organised by Connie Tai.

    by the way, how do you keep the ang pows?

  9. 9 laokokok Friday, October 3, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Hi Saw, thanks for you info on the Ang Pao Club. Didn’t know there is such a club here. The ang pows are kept in photo album.

  10. 10 Jean Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Wow you’ve got a great collection out there. I have received a few before from Chinese friends but didn’t know that it would make a good collectors item. I wish somebody will give me angpaos this new year (hehe).

    Happy new year 2009 everyone.

  11. 11 peek-a-boo Monday, January 26, 2009 at 4:01 am

    Kong Hee Fatt Choy to you Laokokok and everyone celebrating the Chinese new Year!!!

  12. 12 gina Wednesday, January 28, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I threw most away. now seeing yours, regretting big time! Anyway, Emporium Holdings didn’t really closed down. The biz was too big, and later it was sold to TOPS. At least some of the stores..then later, Cold Storage bought over the stores . Some were sold to different retailers. The biz really closed shop in mid 1990s. I know too much about them because I use to be their old pioneer staff.

  13. 13 sandrar Thursday, September 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  14. 14 laokokok Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Thank you Sandra and glad you like my blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 957,594 hits
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

