My Old Chinese Composition Exercise Book

This is my old Chinese Composition exercise book, 31 years ago when I was in Sec.3 (1977);

Note that this old Chinese Composition exercise book was turned from left to right as it was binded on the right side instead of on the left side.

Take a look at the inside;

The unique part is the pages are joined in this manner;

Nowadays I don’t think the school is still using such Chinese Composition exercise book. My Sec.2 son’s Chinese Composition paper is in the form of foolscap paper type;

Of course I prefer the new type which is more convenient!

8 Responses to “My Old Chinese Composition Exercise Book”


  1. 1 rambutan Wednesday, July 2, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Hey fellow Victorian (i rekon), seems like your son went to alma mater; mine wanted but it is now so far east. broke my heart but common sense prevailed.
    i come from ‘ocbc’ background and none too proud of my dismal chinese! no compo ex book to relive my nightmares!
    me from class of 79.
    you know now the old school building is undergoing major makeover. will not recognise it post event but wants to walk on those unique tiles again. previous visits gate guarded; didnt stop me in my youth but now more sensible lol.

    remember Mr Menon?

    thanks for the memories
    nil sine labore

  2. 2 laokokok Thursday, July 3, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Thanks for dropping by Rambutan. Glad to have another fellow Victorian here. Yes, I do remember Mr.Menon. Also not forgetting Mr.Alan – the one who likes to send his students First Day Cover.

  3. 3 Lam Chun See Thursday, July 3, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I don’t recall our Chinese compo books were like that.

    Anyway, you are great man! Even composition book can keep for 31 years. But I still have my primary 1 report card! That’s from 1959. May next year, when it reacher half-century. Some of my old stuff, better keep for my grandchildren.

  4. 4 Icemoon Thursday, July 3, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Funny leh, shouldn’t the characters be written parallel to the paper fold? Even the printed words follow this orientation.

  5. 5 laokokok Friday, July 4, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Hi Chun See,
    I think you mean your Primary Sch report card right? Not just your Pri.1 one.

    Hi Icemoon,
    Yes, for normal Chinese Compo it was written in the manner you mention. But for the “Yin Yong Wen”, it was written in the manner as shown above. “Yin Yong Wen” refer to letter writing, notice, etc…

  6. 6 Icemoon Friday, July 4, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Hmm, I can’t see the chinese characters clearly, but I think your piece wasn’t 应用文 but some kind of narrative. I see a lot of Ali, Ali.

  7. 7 Lam Chun See Saturday, July 5, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    No it’s literraly a single card. Anyway I stayed only 1 year and left for another school. That report book I still have.

  8. 8 jeremy Thursday, February 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    chinese bery “good”~~ haha


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,002,691 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

