10 Pcs A Box Butter Cake

How many pieces of cake can be packed in this box? 10 pieces, yes in the past we usually have such 10 pieces a box cake. Like my godmother’s family, there are 8 children and including godmother and godfather there will be 10 of them. So a box of cake will be just enough!

This is the good old tasty type of butter cakes that I like best. Frankly I don’t like those cheese cakes or blueberry cheese cakes and fresh cream cakes nowadays. I still prefer the old butter cakes but some confectionary shops just don’t make them well. This one at Beach Road, said to be an very old shop, their butter cakes are to my liking (I’ve no relation or dealings with them, I’m just a customer).

Simple design, simple taste that brings back good old memories. Of course it was very much cheaper in the 70s, now it’s 80 cents a piece. My godfather used to buy at least 2 boxes of cakes home in the past so that some of us can have more than 1 piece. One thing I missed very much is the Rum cake. Anyone know where I can still find them?

20 Responses to “10 Pcs A Box Butter Cake”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Ahh… these cakes look very familiar indeed. When I was a kid in the 1960s, every now and then we would get a box from a relative or a friend. A box of cakes, that is, not a punch. Haha.

    The box would usually be accompanied by a red card in a pink envelope. We called this a “sam-man” (from the English word “summon”) – a wedding invitation. In return, our parents gave an angpow (red packet containing money). That explains the origin of the word “sam-man”.

  2. 2 Victor Koo Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Oh I just noticed that the box in the photo only has 9 cakes, not 10. You must have succumbed to the irresistible temptation and eaten one of them before you took that photo. Haha.

  3. 3 laokokok Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 11:13 am

    You are right this time Victor, it’s less one before I reached home. Of course who can resist the temptation….hehe.

  4. 4 Victor Koo Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    We kids had a “proper procedure” in eating such cakes in those days, i.e. lick off the cream on top first. Then savour the remaining plain butter cake below, nibble by nibble. Do you still eat it that way? :p

  5. 5 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    when I was young, the cakes were OK. When I was an adult, I didnt like the cakes. The reason – I have a sweet tooth. Those cakes look pretty and colourful but got no kick!. There was a kick shop in Marine Parade Central behind the post office. My wife always bought for the kids but I hated it. I think the shop was called Seng Seong Cake or something sounding it.

    There is a shop somewhere in Bedok North. Famous for Ang ku Kueh. These cakes were also placed ina box to be handed to friends and relatives for 1 month baby celebration.

  6. 6 scy Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 1:57 am

    I love these cakes too. I think there is an old bakery along selegie, near Peace Center, there was a row of shop houses. The bakery is called LE and I think it is next to those shops selling tow huay. I have been in the US for years and have not visited the area for a long time so I’m not sure if you can get these cakes there. I used to go to kindergarten in that area, so some parents will get cake from that bakery to celebrate their kid’s birthday.

    The way I eat these cake is to eat the cake together with the cream. To me, the cream is the best and it is an anti climax to finish the cream first. So I them all together. Sometimes, if you can get a piece that is cut from the edge, the sides have cream too, and I will make sure that I eat that last.

    profkingsfield2004, the cake shop is called Seng Choon. I grew up in the area and just like you, I don’t really like their cakes. The son of the bakery later set up his own shop, now known as Bakerzin in Millenia Walk: http://www.makansutra.com/reviews/120307/index.html

  7. 7 peek-a-boo Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 5:29 am

    I loved those butter cakes!But 2 at a go maximum otherwise I went thru a little nausea for some strange reason.I also loved curry puffs and little nonya cakes.But just seeing your pictures and thinking about those creamy butter cakes has me mouth watering all over again but whatever happened to that thin red ribbon tied around the box for easy carrying?LOL!

  8. 8 laokokok Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Hi Peter,
    Agreed if some cake shops their butter cakes taste horrible and that will make one don’t feel like eating it.

    Hi SCY,
    Oh Selegie area, I’ve not been there for a long time. Maybe should take a look there sometime. Thanks for the reminder.

    Hi Peek-a-Boo,
    Talking about curry puff, I prefer the one at the basement of Golden Mile Cinema. Yap, the red ribbon seems to be missing nowadays as most boxes are put in a plastic bag.

  9. 9 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I hope this time Sweet Temptations will do a National Day promotion. last year 50% discount – all flavours.

    Seng Choon, oh yes, sounds like Seng Choon Eggs the company. Not sure related or not.

  10. 10 Robert Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Hmmmm .. . . my favourite is still Chin Mee Chin cake shop along East Coast Road (next to the church).

  11. 11 Fashion Haw Friday, August 8, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Robert do you mean the cake shop next to The Katong Holy Family Church(in front of Lau’s Arcadia)?It was my favourite too.They made great curry and cream puffs.

  12. 12 pauline Monday, September 8, 2008 at 5:24 am

    wa looking at your photos makes me really nostalgic for those cakes. they were horribly sweet weren’t they. but what joy to use your fingers to whip the cream off…sure kerna if parents caught you doing it, but how delicious.

  13. 13 laokokok Wednesday, September 17, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Frankly I find them less sweet than those newer cakes.

  14. 14 passerby Thursday, October 9, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Talking about cakes, anyone knows where the famous Katong Red House cenfectionery shifted to? Are they still making cakes somewhere?

  15. 15 laokokok Tuesday, October 14, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Hi Passerby,
    Who knows one of these days, many confectionery will pop up at the East Coast Road claiming to be the original Red House Bakery like the Katong Laksa.

  16. 16 kim Friday, November 7, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Yes, I remember those boxes of cakes well as the bakery is nearby and sometimes they even put in a curry puff or two according to your wishes. Dad would buy them as treats but for birthdays, we would get the cakes from Polar Cafe in High Street and the icing is purely butter and icing sugar with these little metallic sugar pinheads as decoration. The cakes from Polar nowadays are not the same anymore.

  17. 17 Bullet Friday, February 19, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Hi All,

    M one of the decendents of a small famous cake shop in Toa Payoh called Wong Cake Shop, we were pretty famous of our blueberry cheesecake n rum cake in 1970s!!

    • 18 laokokok Wednesday, February 24, 2010 at 8:32 am

      Will give it a try if I happen to pass by. The rum cake is really hard to find nowadays.

    • 19 Ixora Monday, December 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      Hi Bullet,

      I’ve been looking and asking around to the whereabouts of Wong Cake Shop as it’s my favourite cake shop when I was young. Love to visit it weekly with my parents and I miss the peanut round cake which I get from my parents yearly as my birthday cake. I heard it has closed down but expanded to Prima Deli, is it true?
      I hope to hear from you soon as I miss the cakes for years.
      Thank you!

  18. 20 Regina Wednesday, December 21, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Oh my, Wong’s Cake Shop is one of the most defining icons of my childhood! I looooove the cakes and nothing comes close to it till today. I wish they were still operating. The cold air-con and clean smell greeting us, and all the neat trays of cakes…. for 50 cents each! I always looked forward to going there with my mum and carting a boxful of cakes home for supper and breakfast!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,003,359 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

