My SRP

When I was searching for some old documents in my drawer, I came across my old SRP. You may ask what’s “SRP”, it’s “Singapore Restricted Passport”. The younger generation may not be aware of it but it’s our blue passport for travel to West Malaysia only.

After Singapore separated from Malaysia on 8 August 1965, freedom of movement existed between the two countries for a short period of time. Later 2 checkpoints were built, one at the Tanjong Pagar Railway Station and the other at Woodlands Checkpoint. Malaysians entering Singapore had to produce their identity cards until passports were used on both sides in July 1967.

Thus from 1 July 1967, this Singapore Restricted Passport was issued to facilitate travel to West Malaysia only. So to travel to West Malaysia, the Singapore restricted passport and the Singapore Certificate of Identity was needed. The Singapore Restricted Passport Centre was set up in South Quay. It moved to Outram Road in 1976 and closed its doors on 31 December 1994. I believed the General Post Office was given the task to first issue this Special Causeway Passport around May to June 1967;

Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

A passport office was opened at Joo Chiat Complex on the fourth floor on 5 Nov 1984. This office issued both international and restricted passports and was closed on Sep 1999. Due to falling demand and the introduction of the new passport system, the SRP was abolished. SRPs were no longer issued from 1 Jan 1999 and were valid for travel until 31 Dec 1999.

When was the last time I used it? Nov 1988 and that was the year I completed my 6 yrs contract with the Air Force. Now I remember I first applied for this Restricted Passport to go to Malaysia when I was 17 yrs old. Probably had a trip there with some classmates after Sec.4 while waiting to go Poly.

This passport was also used when I drove in to Johore Bahru with my camp mates during my signed-on days in the Air Force. Rather convenient to drive to  JB from Tengah Air Base. The thing I hate most is filling in this card;

Why? Because I always have problem in filling the “Last place of embarkation” and “Next Destination”.

I remember my SRP was renewed once at this Joo Chiat Complex in 1985. But where did I get my SRP from in 1979? Is it Empress Place or Outram Road (which part of Outram, I really don’t know. Maybe Peter and Chun See will know)?

Below shows Joo Chiat Complex in 1985;

Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

For more details, read here.

16 Responses to “My SRP”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    “But where did I get my SRP from in 1979? Is it Empress Place or Outram Road?”

    I think I know the answer. At one time we had to go to this little building/office at Queensway. As you approach Holland Road from Queenstown direction, it was on a little hill on the left, between Commonwealth Drive and Holland Circus.

  2. 2 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    If Outram Road, could it be the one before Chin Swee Road coming from Great World – the former Institute of Health?

    In my mind there was another immigration office also in the late 1970s at Finger Pier near the former Singapore Poly in Prince Edward Road.

  3. 3 laokokok Thursday, August 21, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Oh no, how come there are more coming up?? And I really have not a slightest idea where I made my first SRP…my memory seems to be getting worst….

  4. 4 Victor Koo Thursday, August 21, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Chun See, I think that the little building off Queensway which you described was occupied by the Malaysian Road Transport Department (Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalanraya Malaysia). Why would Singaporeans go to a Malaysian office to apply for a Singapore restricted passport (for travel to Malaysia)? The passport issuing authority should be the then Singapore Immigration Department.

    If I remember correctly, that office was for the application of vehicle entry permits, i.e. if you wanted to drive your Singapore-registered car into Malaysia, you had to apply for a permit here. I think the fee was $20 or thereabouts.

  5. 5 Lam Chun See Friday, August 22, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Yes Victor. You are right. I remember it was something to do with vehical pass. Real hassle.

  6. 6 mez Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 9:30 am

    How amazing to read your entry! I’ve just read exactly the same info because I have recently been doing some research to find out about the passport process – in 1968.

    I’ve contacted the ICA a few weeks ago, but there may not be records of the specific type of information I seek as I’ve not yet heard back.

    This is clearly before your time, but would you happen to know whether you’d have needed a passport to travel by train from Singapore to JB in 1968? If the restricted passport was necessary for travel to West Malaysia only, could Singaporeans enter JB without a passport?

    I also wonder what age minimum there was to apply for a passport. If they didn’t need a passport, was there a minimum age to travel to Malaysia solo?

    Tricky questions, but I couldn’t help but ask since we’re looking at exactly the same information at the same time!!

    I hope this enquiry might bring up a happy memory of travel at a young age to JB! :)

  7. 7 Hamzah Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 8:44 am

    To Mez:
    As far as I can remember, passports are required for travel between Singapore and Malaysia from 1967 even if you travel by train from Singapore. I’m not too sure about minimum age limits to apply for a passport. You can also visit the ICA Heritage Center on the ground floor of ICA building next to the cafeteria.

  8. 8 Lam Chun See Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I have been to the passport office at Outram Road before. It was on the left side just before you come to Chin Swee Road. On my 2007 street directoery, it say Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board.

    I remember at one time, I had both the restrincted and international passport. The SRP was blue in colour whilst the IP was red.

  9. 9 laokokok Friday, August 29, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Hi Mez,
    If you are talking about 1968 (after 1965), I think definitely a passport is required. If course instead of the SRP, one can also use the International Passport.

  10. 10 RYOMA Wednesday, September 3, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Hi you have done a very goods job…. well done and keep it up :)

    Hey, i had since the ‘RED’ card from my parent; it was quite some time…… now are using ‘WHITE CARD’…

    I am really admirer you for the hard work you put in here and your family, this is really tough for normal people.

    THanks…

    NICE BLOG KEEP IT UP…

  11. 11 Fan Wednesday, September 10, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    i’ve a copy of the SRP as well….i’m born in the 1980s….remmeber that I applied and collect the passport at the Outrum office at the building opposite the shophouses that house Tiong Bahru Pau, Crab No.3 Delicary…

    if i’m not wrong, the building is now converted to a nursery…

  12. 12 laokokok Wednesday, September 17, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Thanks Ryoma and Fan. Interesting infos too.

  13. 13 stngiam Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I believe the Outram Road centre only issued Restricted Passports. After the RPC was closed, it served as a “transit” centre (or jail if you prefer to be harsh) for maids who were being deported for whatever reason. After that, I suppose it must have gone through the usual multiple re-uses of govt offices until it became a child care centre.

    Chun See – Are you sure that the RPC became the TCM Practioners Board ? More likely for that to have been the former Institute of Health which was right next door (Now shown as YWCA on the map)

  14. 14 Знакомства Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    привет , не подумай что я спамер там и так далее
    но пишешь ты реально круто! :)

  15. 15 Muhammad Saiful Adli Sunday, November 11, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Wow! Is that the ‘White Card’ used by Singaporeans to enter West Malaysia in the 80s? I can’t remember if that was the same one used by Mom and me when we travel to west Malaysia back then but I would love to have an original copy of it from you! Hehehe.

    Back in the mid 80s when I was just a little baby, I had to be ‘accompanied’ by Mom in her SRP. It was issued in 1984. I browsed through our old SRP and when I looked at the Malaysian entry endorsements, I noticed ‘+1′, ‘acc by 1′ or ‘+1 child’ written next to them to indicate that Mom was accompanied by me in the passport. (I’m her only son by the way). When the passport was nearing expiry 5 years later in 1989, Mom and I had our own seperate SRPs. They were also smaller in size, just like our current SIPs.

    I also noticed the Malaysians had different arrival & departure endorsements in 1984. Our 1st endorsements in our SRP had a rectangular arrival endorsement in purple ink (dated 04 Jul 1984) and a triangular departure endorsement in black ink (dated 07 Jul 1984). However, later that same year, the arrival endorsement is also rectangular in purple ink but smaller (dated 08 Nov 1984). The departure endorsement is triangular but in red ink. The latter is similar to the endorsements given by Malaysians nowadays.

  16. 16 Muhammad Saiful Adli Sunday, November 11, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Just to add on to the above entry. The departure endorsement that is triangular in shape and in red ink was dated 11 Nov 1984.

    I just realized the arrival endorsement dated 04 Jul 1984 stated that we are ‘Permitted to enter Malaysia and to remain until 18 Jul 1984. Subject to conditions below.’ The next arrival endorsement dated 08 Nov 1984 stated ‘Permitted to enter and to remain in West Malaysia and Sabah for TWO WEEKS from the date shown above.’

    However in an arrival endorsement dated 02 Dec 1986, it stated ‘Permitted to enter and remain in West Malaysia and Sabah for ONE MONTH form the date shown above.’

    Interesting findings!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 997,294 hits
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

