1968 PAP Report Card

Should be a 1968 PAP Kindergarten Report Card! I’m wondering why I’m only studying during the 2nd term of the Kindergarten at the PAP? That means I only had 6 mths of Kindergarten education prior to my Primary education.

If you see carefully the above Report Card;

– The Chinese text is above the English.

– The address (436, Pesiaran Keliling) of the Kindergarten or the Road name does not exist anymore.

– Postal code probably still not introduced yet.

Now for the inside of the Report Card;

I really don’t have much recollection of that address 182, Mattar Road, Block 2! That means I may have stayed with my “Ba Gu” or No.8th Auntie (my Father’s elder sister) for about 6 mths. That Block 2 should have been demolished long ago. Why the unit number just 182 at that time?

14 Responses to “1968 PAP Report Card”


  1. 1 HamBearGer Tuesday, March 13, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Unit number 182 means ground floor or storey 1. Storey 2 is 182A, storey 3 is 182B, etc.
    My old house address is 79B, Block 3, Jln Lima, Singapore 14.
    The house number written in today’s style will be Block 3, #03-79.
    Houses in those days are usually less than 10 storeys, using A, B, C,.. is not a problem.

  2. 2 laokokok Wednesday, March 14, 2007 at 12:36 am

    I remembered “I” and “O” were not included in the address as it confused with 1 and 0; or did I remember wrongly for another case??

  3. 3 HamBearGer Wednesday, March 14, 2007 at 3:23 am

    Yes, “I” and “O” were not used. Do you remember the lift buttons? “G” is for storey 1. “3” is for storey 4, “6” is for storey 7, etc…confusing!

  4. 4 laokokok Wednesday, March 14, 2007 at 6:23 am

    Yes, G is for Ground Floor. To make our life more confusing, we used Ground Floor, 1st Floor, 2nd Floor or 1st Storey, 2nd Storey, 3rd Storey then.

    Now we even have Level 1, level 2, level 3 to be included to make it more confusing haha.

  5. 5 peter Wednesday, March 14, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    There was also “M” for Mezzanine floor, which was quite common in Raffles Place during the 1960s. For” B”, there was no lift but you used the staircase to walk down.

    I recalled these office buildings having a “M” – the old HK Bank Chambers and Asia Insurance Bdlg.

  6. 6 thirdsister Thursday, January 17, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    This is an interesting blog, very nostaligic so let me share my fond memories too:) At age 23 I was working in Cecil Street, wrecking my brains now but can’t recall name of building! Anyway, it always tickles me when I remember getting into the rickety cage of a lift that had no doors but an accordian like gate (laokokkok would probably know what I mean…), as vintage as can be, somedays wish I was in that cage again and when I get out, its the 80s again!

    Some mornings when I go to work (same vicinity these days) but soooo different…I chuckle to myself (in my head) when I picture the hurly, burly Sikh jagar who would slide open and shut the accordian gate of the lift at every floor with great dignity. He was a truly cool chap and I never knew his name but to this day, I remember him well!

    All of you seem to treasure the old days so I feel good that I have decided to place this recollection in your good minds and one of these days, should someone from this blogroll remember the same jagar, I’d be so pleased to know his name.

    On a new note, does laokokkok or anyone remember or have pixs of the old Tay Koh Yat Bus Terminal in Machperson/Aljunied back in the 60s?

  7. 7 laokokok Friday, January 18, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Hi Thirdsister,
    Thank you and welcome here. I do remember one such sliding gate type of lift at (I think) Cecil Street. It was at that old Great Eastern insurance company in the 80s. I used to go there in early 80s as a part time agent then.

    As for the bus terminal in Aljunied, I remember one there – probably near Mattar Road…or so….

  8. 8 chat con cam gratis haga clic Sunday, June 23, 2013 at 2:12 am

    This is a good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very precise info… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  9. 9 Myp2p Sports Wednesday, September 4, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to
    make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when browsing from my
    iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that
    might be able to fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please
    share. With thanks!

  10. 10 Http://Www.Transitionscotland.Org/Great-Tricks-Facebook-Players Wednesday, September 11, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Hi, I wish for to subscribe for this blog to get latest updates,
    thus where can i do it please help out.

  11. 11 Jonnie Saturday, September 21, 2013 at 7:34 am

    You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I
    to find this matter to be really one thing which I believe I might by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely wide for me. I am having a look forward to your next post, I’ll attempt
    to get the dangle of it!

  12. 12 www.youtube.com Sunday, March 16, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the
    blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  13. 13 http://www.webshop.lk Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Aw, this was a very good post. Taking the time and actual effort to
    produce a great article… but what can I say… I put things off a
    lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  14. 14 bluehost free affiliate programs Monday, October 6, 2014 at 7:42 am

    An experienced administrator would benefit from utilizing Hostgator’s services because most major maintenance functions are streamlined and can be accomplished very quickly.

    Actually it is a mistake to think that any Linux hosting is good for Word – Press powered sites but in this case it is true to say that Host – Gator and Word
    – Press are a good fit. Dedicated hosting means that your website is allocated its own unique server.
    var sc_project=5160049; var sc_invisible=0;
    var sc_partition=34; var sc_click_stat=1; var sc_security=”1004ac93″;.
    Baby plan gives solution for intermediate users who
    required hosting more than one domains but not all domains are getting huge traffic.
    Satisfying your customers by solving their problems
    is one thing that can’t be overlooked. And allows you to look at them without having any
    liability. They cater to people today and big corporations alike.
    The company has a lot to offer to its clients, making it the best
    pick amongst different web hosts in the market today.

    If you transfer your existing site to Bluehost you’ll find that you will quality for
    all the same promotional offers that new users get.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,149,070 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

