SATA Greeting Seals

My late godfather used to buy these SATA greeting seals in the past. Somehow I managed to have a couple of such booklets – from $2 per booklet (10 sheets of 10 seals per sheet) in 1969 to $5 per booklet in 1971. $2 or $5 may not be a large amount now, but at that time (60s and 70s) it was quite a considerable amount.

These are not meant to replace the usual postage stamps but used to decorate your letters as shown below.

For those that do not know what SATA is (click on the link in the first para) , I’m not surprised as TB (Tuberculosis) is no longer a major killer in Singapore. It was in the 60s, thus Singapore Anti-Tuberculosis Association (SATA) was setup in 1947.

5 Responses to “SATA Greeting Seals”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Friday, February 16, 2007 at 3:01 am

    I also have these. Hope I can dig it out one of these days.

  2. 2 D. Lin Monday, August 24, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I was born in 1986 but I actually remember these! I kind of knew that they weren’t real stamps so we used them as “play stamps”, but I didn’t realise my daddy had to pay for them.

  3. 3 Eddie Yong Friday, March 11, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Yes the earliest Singapore SATA seals were first issued in 1948. Since then they have issued it every year.

  4. 4 Scott Tuesday, May 14, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be helpful to read through articles from other writers and use something from other sites.

  5. 5 http://www.nexopia.com/ Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    This is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.

    Brief but very accurate information… Appreciate your
    sharing this one. A must read post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,158,394 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

