My Childhood Memories – Petain Road (Part 2)

Before I move on to talk about Petain Road, let’s take a road at the map again below;

Not all flats in Beatty Road are 4 storey high, some are only 2 storey high and the layout of the house is totally different from those 4 storey high. The opposite block (Block 6) which is just directly opposite Beatty Primary School was a 2 storey flat.

When I heard news about those flats in Beatty Road were going to give way to the 3 blocks of condo, I felt sad. I thought the whole area there will be gone for good, but luckily I still managed to find my ex-tution teacher Mr. Lin’s house at Petain Road.

Let’s take a look at how it looks now though I’m not sure if the inside is still the same;

Well I can’t remember which unit my ex-tution teacher was staying. This whole block of 2 storey old building is now called Petain Court. Here is just one of the close-up of those units;

If you see carefully, the wall tiles and pillars are nicely done up but the flooring doesn’t seem to match!

Adjacent to this Petain Court building, is another very old building. This one has those olden spiral staircase which I always find difficulty in walking up and down. In fact there are still quite a number of such buildings with spiral staircase around that area.

Besides going for my tution via Petain Road, I also used to walk past here to go to the old New World Amusement Park (back gate), which is another story to tell.

7 Responses to “My Childhood Memories – Petain Road (Part 2)”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Friday, February 23, 2007 at 2:11 am

    Thanks for the nice photos. I am not too familiar with this area. Like to ask you 2 questions.

    1) What was shown in you map as Balestier Rd – wasn’t it known as Moulein Rd before?

    2) We once had a discussion on my blog about the name Ban Kar Kah. I joked that it meant ‘mosquitoes bite leg’. None of my readers were able to give a confident answer about the origin of this name and its meaning. Maybe you can help out.

    I also wanted to blog about New World. Such a wonderful place for kids of our time. Maybe we can coordinate and try to publish at the same time and give our readers a double whammy when we both upload to Yesterday.sg at the same time.

  2. 2 laokokok Friday, February 23, 2007 at 3:19 am

    Hi Chun See,
    1. Do you mean Moulmein Rd or there is a Moulein Rd? If it’s typo error, then Moulmein Rd should be after the Ceylon Sports Club along Balestier Rd. Even tracing back to the 1975 Street Directory, that was named Balestier Rd.

    2. Ban Kar Kah refers to flats around Idris, Tronoh and Kempas Rd. Will help to check it out how Ban Kar Kah got it’s name – good one!

    Happy New Year to you!

  3. 3 laokokok Friday, February 23, 2007 at 6:51 am

    OK just found out that there are a few variations of the name Ban Kar Kah which actually mean Lavender Street.

    Nangka kar meaning “under the jackfruit tree” and Mangkar kar, meaning “mosquitoes biting human legs” were two vernacular terms used to mean Lavender Street.

    In the olden Singapore Street Directory (Chinese version), the Lavender Street they also put aka “芒 膠 脚” which probably means under the Jackfruit Tree in Hokien dialect.

    As for the Mosquitoes biting legs version, probably there were lots of mosquitoes biting the legs as it was a vegetable garden and often flood.

    For more detail, you may click here;
    http://infopedia.nlb.gov.sg/articles/SIP_380_2005-01-26.html

  4. 4 Lam Chun See Friday, February 23, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Sorry, I meant Moulmein. I remember, before CTE was constructed, Moulmein Rd ran all the way to Serangoon Rd and Balestier Rd ended at the traffic light junction. In other words, the stretch in front of Ceylon Sports Club used to be Moulmein not Balestier.

    Just wanted to confirm if my memory is playing tricks again.

  5. 5 laokokok Sunday, February 25, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    I had a 1975 street directory where ECP, PIE and CTE were not built then. It still shows that part was Balestier Rd instead of Moulmein Rd. Maybe at that time, the road sign was not put up there yet so most thought it either was part of Lavender St or Moulmein Rd. I personally thought that Balestier Rd starts after the split junction.

  6. 6 RaiulBaztepo Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language šŸ˜‰
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  7. 7 laokokok Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Glad you like my blog here Raiul Baztepo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,179,211 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

