My Childhood Memories – Serangoon Road (Part 4, Final)

Here is the map again of Serangoon Road where my parents used to stay;

The junction made by Beatty Road and Race Course Rd, Serangoon Rd lies this aged old overhead temple entrance arch called “Long Shan Si”;

I will talk more about the temples around there in future. It has been there since the 60s till now, maybe they have repaint or touch up the “entrance arch”.

The long common corridor of my parents’ house at Serangoon Rd was ideal for learning roller skate in the 70s then. My first pair of roller skate was something like this;

It was very metallic and the length adjustment is by pulling the metal strip.

Walking along this stretch of Serangoon Rd brings you to the junction of Lavender Street. At this junction, the Singapore Institute of Science is still there. I knew the signboard was there many many years ago, but I’m totally unawared of what is inside that building;

A close up shot;

6 Responses to “My Childhood Memories – Serangoon Road (Part 4, Final)”


  1. 1 mikko Sunday, March 4, 2007 at 11:05 am

    You did a great job documenting the changes in this area. It is very insightful for me as I am one of the residents in the 3 blocks of condo. It gives me an idea of what this area is about long ago.

    Any idea when were the flats demolished?

  2. 2 laokokok Sunday, March 4, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    Hi Mikko,
    Thanks. Guess it’s sometime around 2002/2003 (not too sure) as I think around 2004 they already annouced going to build the condos there.

  3. 3 mikko Monday, March 5, 2007 at 10:36 am

    hi

    I think it is earlier because I bought my unit in July 2002 and by then all blocks were already demolished. 🙂 The build up took a long time though. It was completed only in end 2005.

    Very nostalgic – especially when I read your documentation.

  4. 4 Kimology Friday, October 30, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    I used to stay in Upper Serangoon Road and pass this area riding on the bus each day. I think there was a chinese temple and chinese primary school in the road behind. Below the S’pore Institute of Science is a bar ( still there),few shops away from there was a famous fried noodles stall.

  5. 5 laokokok Friday, November 6, 2009 at 9:17 am

    You are right Kimology. The temple has a sleeping buddha and the school is no longer there.

  6. 6 Qlas Wednesday, May 11, 2016 at 12:25 pm

    I use to stay at tis blk 8 tronoh rd…i like it my childhood memories…i left tat blk dec 1980…stay tat place around 14yrs…miss so much


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,167,324 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

