My Primary Education

This is the continuation of the post yesterday “Beatty Integrated School”. Here is the front cover of my Report Card;

I do not understand why in the past, most Chinese wordings are placed before (above) the English wordings. You may note that the word “Primary” was not there. The plastic cover given was not of very clear type but good enough to offer protection to the report card hehe.

Surprisingly inside the Report Card, the English wordings showed the word “Primary” as in Beatty Integrated Primary School.

Also note that the Postal Code 8 was written at the Address then in 1969!

So have you noticed that our Primary Education has changed over this 30 to 40 years.

Science was taught in Primary 1 during my time in 1969! Now, Science was taught in Primary 3 onwards.  

I’m not too sure how the Science syllabus may have changed since then, but definitely the primary school Science nowadays are far more detailed and difficult than in the past. Here is a very old Science book published in 1969 by Federal (insert);

  

Another point you may note is that History and Geography were taught from Primary 3 onwards then while these subjects were integrated into Social Studies as a subject and taught from Pri.1 nowadays. Only from Secondary 1, History and Geography were taught as a seperate subject now.

Finally, you may see that there were only about 160 students in my same level from Primary 1 to 3. So there were probably about 4 classes each of about 40 students. Far lesser than now of course, why? Maybe the population then was lesser and also Primary Education might not yet be compulsory. So you see as time passed by, more and more people are getting educated and thus it’s far more difficult to get a job in future even if you are a graduate – the population grows and you are just one of the many!

10 Responses to “My Primary Education”


  1. 1 peter Thursday, March 1, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    I can’t help but agree with your observations. I looked up my primary school report cards dating back to between 1961 and 1966, the format and subject coverage were the same. I wondered what subjects we sat for PSLE then – was it Science, Maths, Englsih and Second Language only?

    From what I understand, we followed the British education system and the syllabus was exactly what was taught to British kids who attended British military schools in Singapore. Look up “Memories of Singapore” and you will the same example like yours there.

    At least your report book comes in hard cover. Mine was terrible – a piece of colored “hard-board” paper; each yea was a different color.

    On re: your BC, I checked up mine. I think you got the titling incorrect. “Extract” means the duplicate and was black in color. “Original” means original (red in color). My vaccination statement was on a separate piece of paper. You were listed as “British Subject” in 1962 because Singapore was not 100% fully independent – we were self government only for all matters except for defense and foreign policy. We became independent only in 1965.

    Get in touch with me at my email. I like to follow up off-line.

  2. 2 laokokok Thursday, March 1, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Hi Peter,
    I’m not too sure about the terms they used for Birth Certificate but on my Red copy, the term “Duplicate (For Informant)” was printed on the top left corner. While the other copy with black ink, there isn’t any mentioned whether it’s Original or Extract. Yep, I got a few certificates of vaccination paper separately. BTW, only my parents are listed as “British Subjects” but myself Singaporean.

    BTW, I couldn’t find your email address by clicking on your Name. Nevertheless, my email is laokokok@yahoo.com.sg

  3. 3 My Super Kids Friday, August 17, 2007 at 5:29 am

    Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

  4. 4 laokokok Friday, August 17, 2007 at 10:05 am

    Thanks and welcome here, My Super Kids.

  5. 5 winston Sunday, October 7, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Hey very informative. Very interesting, my father’s cards were like that too.what did you do for PSLE, was it out of 800? ;p

    Keep it up,the post has style.

  6. 6 laokokok Monday, October 8, 2007 at 7:34 am

    Thanks for surfing by Winston.

  7. 7 hyacinthus Thursday, October 11, 2007 at 9:13 am

    I was enrolled into River Valley English School in 1980s. 1 year later, it combined with River Valley Chinese School and Kim Seng Primary to become River Valley Primary School. However, Kim Seng School was not used as a school compound and it became kind of “haunted” or “deserted”. But, I still remember there was a drink stall in Kim SEng Primary selling lychee drinks for only 10cents. It was my favourite drink. Also, catching spiders was one of our favourite activities. haha…

    The current site of River Valley Primary is now rezone for residential use and rented out to a commercial school.

    Beatty Integrated Primary School? I guess it’s also a combination of different primary schools in Beatty area? Do you have pics of your primary school still? 🙂

  8. 8 laokokok Friday, October 12, 2007 at 7:37 am

    Hi Hyacinthus,
    Integrated has a different meaning then – not a mix of different schools together. I’ve a post and photos of my primary school here;
    https://timesofmylife.wordpress.com/2007/02/28/beatty-integrated-school/

    And Beatty Primary School building is still around.

  9. 9 Tang Chun Wah Thursday, March 15, 2012 at 12:16 am

    you stayed 580….I stayed at 579, opposite your house….a laundry shop

  10. 10 p Thursday, September 25, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone
    3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the fantastic work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,178,903 hits
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

