Temples at Race Course Road

Rememer this arch I mentioned before in my previous post;

Let’s show the map of temples at Race Course Road first;

I’ve always mistaken it for a different temple! I thought it was this one (Temple 2);

Yes, this is the famous Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple which is also known as the Temple of 1,000 lights. Inside is this almost 300 tons 15M high Buddha statue;

I remembered once my Primary School teacher brought us there to see the reclining Buddha in a chamber at the back of this statue.

Let’s take a closer look at this temple outside. The signboard at the temple entrance;

The mural at the top;

2470 – 1927 : What does it mean? Is the temple built in 1927 as some said so? I’m not too sure if that is a pair of lions or tigers.

You will see the same pair guarding the entrance of the temple;

Why did I mistaken this temple for the Long Shan Si probably because of this dome structure which I can see from the balcony of my Godmother’s house at Beatty Road on the fourth storey;

Ok, now for the real Long Shan Si which was first built in 1917;

It is said that the main hall of the temple resembles that of a Chinese palace.

The other deity like Confucius are also near the main altar. Some parents bring their children to pray for intelligence and filial piety.

Besides this temple, is the old Mee Toh School which was initially designed for the construction of another temple Mee Toh Temple.

Of course there are more temples along the Race Course Road, but these are the 2 temples that leave a deep impression in my mind. I used to walk past these temples along the Race Course Road when I was young.

7 Responses to “Temples at Race Course Road”


  1. 1 gin Monday, March 19, 2007 at 6:11 am

    Reason why the tiger and leopard are outside Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple is because, the main donors for rebuilding the temple were the Aw brothers – Aw Boon Haw & Aw Boon Paw.
    Understand from the temple staff, the animals were also donated by the brothers.

  2. 2 laokokok Tuesday, March 20, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Hi Gin,
    Welcome here. It didn’t occured to me that the Aw brothers are the main sponsors of this temple. If they are, then now I know the reasons why the tiger and leopard outside! Thanks for the infos.

  3. 3 Dawn Thursday, August 9, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    Hi

    Very happy to bump into this page while looking for a good writeup of The Temple of 1,000 Lights. You are right, both temples are magnificent and I remember them well; even though it was a long time ago since I last visited them. It is time for us to help to spread the words around that there are great places to visit even in this little red dot of Singapore.

  4. 4 kk Monday, December 8, 2008 at 12:55 am

    believe 2470 is the year its built. thai year 2470 = our year 1927.

  5. 5 laokokok Wednesday, December 10, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Hi kk, that’s interesting info.

  6. 6 Hsiongcai Monday, December 22, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    2470 is the Buddhist Calender …

    2008 – 2552 =)

  7. 7 company for seo Tuesday, September 2, 2014 at 8:17 am

    Howdy! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I
    had to ask. Does building a well-established website such as yours require a
    lot of work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and views online.

    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,178,903 hits
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

