Amusement Park – New World (Part 2)

…from Part 1

When I was around 11 to 16 yrs old, I liked to walk to the New World Amusement Park via the side way through Petain Road then Somme Road. That was the shortest way to have fun from my Godmother’s Beatty Road flat.

This is the Somme Road leading to the old New World Amusement park but now what you see is the construction of the City Square project.

See what I found at the small empty grass patch before this block of housing. Wonder who leave them there for sale?

This is the back lane of the Somme Road. Looking at the wall and the house, you can gauge how old they are;

Whenever I heard and see photos of New World Amusement Park, it bound to bring back some fond memories.

1. Game Arcade.

My favourite games then was the 20cents per game COMBAT and usually I had some extended play for free due to high score. The other favourite was the Table Soccer which was 10cents and I enjoyed playing with my brother.

2. Cinemas.

The most popular cinema was the Grand Cinema (大光) which cater to mainly Chinese movies. I rememberd watching that “One-armed Swordman” there. I only visited the State Cinema once when Victoria School was screening one of the fund raising movies there when I was in Sec.4 (1978). My memory of State Cinema was that it was screening mainly Tamil show. The other 2 cinemas like Pacific and the wooden Sun Cinemas don’t ring a bell at all in my mind.

3. Joy Rides.

They have ferries wheel, spin cup, merry-go-round, etc. But what I always wanted to try but didn’t have the chance was the ‘Ghost Train’ near the main entrance. I felt that it was full of mystery and always heard screams coming from inside.

4. Fair and Exhibition.

They usually have Trade Fair and Exhibition here. Seems like our Pasar Malam nowadays too.

Photo Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS.

5. Others.

Of course there were many other happenings in this amusement park like those Shooting Gallery, Dance Hall where you paid to get a lady partner to dance with you, Restaurants, etc.

With all these fond memories, it’s sad to see the New World go. So the gate still stays;

Before I end this episode, let’s take a look at the 3 storey building on the right side of the main entrance. This is how it looks now in 2007. Ground floor is now POSB while those windows on top seems to have nicely renovated and painted.

See how it looks like in 2004 before the makeover;

And it looks the same as in the 50s;

Photo Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS.

One last photo here showing the side wall of that 3 storey building. So is this the same tree after so many years?

6 Responses to “Amusement Park – New World (Part 2)”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Wednesday, March 21, 2007 at 2:21 am

    Ah .. I too have been wanting to blog about this place that held many nice memories for Sporeans of our generation. Thanks for helping me to clear up one question – the English name for Grand Theatre.

    Will you blogging about Great World as well? Maybe I wait till you finish all first before I do mine.

  2. 2 laokokok Wednesday, March 21, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Hi Chun See, you mean the Chinese name for Grand Cinema? I don’t have much memory of Great World. Gay World is much better as it’s at Geylang haha.

    Besides the World, maybe I blog about the Land too – you know which one right?

  3. 3 Lam Chun See Wednesday, March 21, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    No, I mean tai kong. I wasn’t sure of the English name until now.

  4. 4 laokokok Wednesday, March 21, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    OIC, so are you another Cantonese guy?

  5. 5 Lam Chun See Thursday, March 22, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Aiyayah .. LKK. You obviously haven’t been reading my blog. what are you going to do about that?

  6. 6 laokokok Thursday, March 22, 2007 at 2:51 am

    Wrong Chun See, I’ve been reading your blog but my memory still of those 4 bit types haha. Doctor told me that to lower my high blood pressure, it’s best not to have too good memory – so I won’t bear grudges.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,149,070 hits
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

