Student Magazines in the Past

I love to read them when I was in Primary School (60s and 70s). The above are some of it though they are Chinese Publication. See – Doraemon already exits at that time!

Here are some of the “must read” portion inside;

Actually what attracted me to reading them are not only they have interesting comics but also good compositions submitted by the students themselves.

Also not forgetting the Penpal section as I used to have penpal in the past as I love to collect stamps;

Of course with email nowadays, who still post a letter to your penpal?

As for the English Publication, my first choice is definitely Student World! Oh, I didn’t keep a copy of it at all……sigh…… I remember I used to win some money ($5 maybe) for the coloring contest organised by the Student World magazine. How I wish someone still have a copy of it and email me the photo of the cover.

11 Responses to “Student Magazines in the Past”


  1. 1 oceanskies79 Wednesday, April 18, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    This post is making me regret that I did not keep my old magazines. I would like to. But my dad is always for the idea of throwing away what we seem not to need to use.

  2. 2 profkinsgfield2004 Thursday, April 19, 2007 at 7:52 am

    I regret I threw away my entire collection of school magazines from the mid-60s. Luckily one of my old classmates kept his collection. Despite moving house and divorcing twice, the school magazines are still with him.

    In our 30 yrs reunion in 2002, we had to depend on this source for all those memories.

    It might be junk now but who knows 100 years later. So one of my friends still keep his first Playboy magazine of 1969.

  3. 3 laokokok Thursday, April 19, 2007 at 8:13 am

    If anyone comes across the student magazine Student World, kindly let me know. Thank you.

  4. 4 Lam Chun See Thursday, April 19, 2007 at 8:26 am

    I too threw away my NJC annual. But fortunately, somebody took the trouble to scan all the pages and burn into cd and circulated at our gathering in 2003.

  5. 5 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 6:32 am

    LKK

    What a coincidence. Two of my boys were from VS at Kallang Bahru before they went to VJC. I used to bring them to school early in the morning via PIE.

    The boys are doing very well and I like the Victorian spirirt although I was not from that alma matar. The current VS spirirt reminds me so much of my RI heritage which I say is totally out-of-line now in the 2 Rs – RI and RJC. VS allowed parents-teachers interaction very well. Recalled meeting Mr. Maran the prefect master.

  6. 6 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 7:28 am

    LKK
    Do you have Fanfare and Moview News magazines? I like to see the front pages.

  7. 7 laokokok Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 7:33 am

    HI profkingsfield2004,
    I don’t have Fanfare and Moview News magazines. I did bought some issues of Fanfare before (lucky you reminded me of this Fanfare, else it’s totally erase off my memory hehe), but just for cutting out the pages to paste on my file.

    As for VS now, I find it rather fall short of my expectation. Probably the lower secondary teachers are mainly new or temp teachers compared to the upper secondary. Anyway, education in Singapore has very short life cycle – keeps changing every few years.

  8. 8 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Do you think you scan those Fanfare pages for me? I think they had Ilsa Sharp covering the entertainment scene in Singapore – movie review and pop bands.

  9. 9 laokokok Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 10:37 am

    Sorry, I don’t have the Fanfare magazines…

  10. 10 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, April 24, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    No not this Fanfare. The local tabloid.

  11. 11 laokokok Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 7:38 am

    Haha, of course it’s not this type.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,179,211 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

