How time flies

Sometimes when I browse through my stamp album, I can’t help but reminisce about the past event. Here is the stamp that brings back memory of our airline history;

I remember when I was young, we used to talk about MSA then MAS and SIA. So what’s all these talk about? Nothing much but just some history of SIA.

Well that MAS stamp was issued in 1973 if I’m not wrong – How Time Flies…I was 11yrs old then and in Pri. 5!

Below is the timeline of our Singapore Airline evolution;

Here are some interesting read on;

Aviation Landscape in Singapore

Malaysia Airlines

During the 70s,  plastic modeling was my best hobby. Brands like Airfix and Tamiya are very popular then. Fixing of airplane was my favourite. Of course, at that time I couldn’t afford a airbrush and compressor, so most of my models are uncolored.

Here is the news on the split of the 2 airlines in 1972;

Credit : SPH, Straits Times

Here is a photo of the Malayan Airways plane (a Douglas DC-3) at Paya Lebar Airport in 1959 .

Photo Credit : Mel Lawrence, Airliners.net

So who still remember the Concorde between 1977 and 1980?

Photo Credit : Singapore Airlines, Wikipedia

BTW, do you still remember our $20 note behind design? It shows a Concorde too;

The note was first issued in 1979.

I was so excited when the Concorde made her maiden flight to Singapore then. Though the sound made by that bird was tremendous, but the sight of that plane was very impressive!

Here are some Concorde history;

Concorde History

Concorde Key Events

5 Responses to “How time flies”


  1. 1 acroamatic Friday, April 20, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    I wasn’t old enough to remember the Concorde in Singapore, but I do remember the $20 note.

    Interesting links! Didn’t know our Concorde flew to Bahrain (probably maxed out its range?) and that the other side was painted in British Airways colours.

  2. 2 Lam Chun See Monday, April 23, 2007 at 9:31 am

    When MSA (Msai-Spore Airlines?) split, Spore wanted to retain the initials MSA by calling itself Mercury Spore airlines. After much protest from Msia, they dropped the idea and chose SIA instead. This was followed by a contest to choose its logo

  3. 3 laokokok Monday, April 23, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Thanks Shun See for the input.

    Yes, and Mercury Singapore Airlines was proposed by the then Minister of Finance. The word “Mercury” was used as it’s the name of the vessel used by Stamdford Raffles when he arrived in Singapore.

    For more details, pls read here;
    Why Mercury

    and

    Creation of Singapore Airlines

  4. 4 Chris Sim Monday, April 23, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Hi LKK (mind if I call you that?). Woa, you’re closer to me in age then all the other laudies like Victor and Chun See. I was born in 1964. But you seem to have more nostalgia memories then me. I dunno much about the history of SIA. But what I do know is that SIA is no longer what it to be. Hee. Thanks for the memories.

  5. 5 laokokok Monday, April 23, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Yes Chris Sim, we are much closer in age than the other 2 who are more “Ah Lao” than us haha. Of course I don’t mind you calling me LKK or whatever hehe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,149,070 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

