1 School 3 Generations (Part 3)

…continued from Part 2. 

It didn’t occur to me until I go thru my old secondary class photos that it was still in Black and White print when I was in Sec.1 (1975).

This one was taken outside the classroom facing the school field. See those doors behind us, there were about 8 of them in each class (think it’s 4 on each side). It took me quite some time to accustom to the Sec.1 school life as all of us came from different Primary Schools. Of course my form teacher (below photo) was Ms Lim then. My class was Sec.1G.

Finally it was in color when I was in Sec.2G (1976). Mr.Boh was my form teacher and also taught us Mathematics. He was one of the best teachers in VS then. This one was taken at the school field facing Jalan Besar Stadium;

Streaming was at end of Sec.2 and I had chosen to go to Technical stream. There were Science , Technical and Art Stream during my time. Though my results allowed me to go to Science stream, I didn’t want to as I wanted to go Poly (S’pore Polytechnic).

This was my Sec. 4 class photo and my form teacher was Mrs.Lee. I was in Sec.4T1 (T for Technical, A for Arts and S for Science stream) then. Mrs.Lee is the only teacher who is still in Victoria School now as she is my son Larger HOD (Head of Department).

As you can see from the photo below, we were wearing long white pants finally. At that time, only Sec.4 were allowed to wear long pants, while Sec.1 to Sec.3 were to wear the Khaki brown shorts.

Some of us had been to her house at Marine Parade. As it’s our final year there in Victoria, our relationship with our form teacher was rather close.

Here is another class photo after a class party;

In the above photo, you can see we were allowed to paste some posters on the back wall for decoration.

Oh I remember Victor (a fellow blogger) was also from Victoria as he did blogged about in his blog. Yes, Mr.Mok and Bulldog were among those popular figures then. Though Mr.Mok was very strict, he was nevertheless a very good Additional Maths teacher. There was another teacher whose nicknamed “Stoner” taught us English in Sec.4. Our whole class hated him as he was one of those teachers on the “Wanted List”. One day, he was rocking his chair with his leg pushing his table until he fell off it. The class laughed and we had our ‘revenge’.

Also I remember almost half of our class went to a School at Queenstown to take our Highway Code test together. Of course I passed mine at the first attempt!

During my time, Sec.1 to Sec 4 were all boys and only from Pre.U 1 to 2 there were girls in Victoria. So our Prom Night for Sec.4 were held together with the Pre.U 2 classes at the Shangri-La Hotel. Here is a photo of that night;

See our fashion sense then haha. Sorry I can’t remember what we had for dinner that night, anyone?

to be continued in Part 4 (Final Part)…

10 Responses to “1 School 3 Generations (Part 3)”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Wednesday, May 2, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    It’s good that you still have your old class photos. In ACS too, only when reach Sec4 then we were allowed to wear long pants.

  2. 2 laokokok Thursday, May 3, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Guess the trend now it’s Sec 3 and 4 (Upper Secondary) are allowed to wear long pants – is it true?

    Probably in the past, pre-u classes are together with the secondary level; so the lower level means sec.1 to sec.3 and the upper level refers to sec.4 to pre-u2. So the upper level are allowed to wear long pants.

  3. 3 victor koo Saturday, May 5, 2007 at 1:53 am

    Hey school mate “Lao”, thanks for linking me. (I am using a very slow PC in my room now and your photos couldn’t load fully. Will return another day to take a good look at your photos.)

  4. 4 laokokok Saturday, May 5, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Hi Victor,
    It’s ok old victorian. No need to rush hehe.

  5. 5 Victor Koo Tuesday, May 8, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Yes, I am back to browse at your photos. I’ve seen Mr Boh before when I was in VS (from 1969 – 1974) although he never taught me before and it’s only now that I know his surname. That means he had been teaching in VS for a number of years then. Oh so he was one of the best teachers of the school at that time. Hmm… I guess that explains his “luo han fish” forehead, haha.

  6. 6 Victor Koo Tuesday, May 8, 2007 at 10:59 am

    You were lucky on 2 counts:

    1. Your prom night was held in posh Shangri-la Hotel. At my time, it was held in the non-descript school hall (yes, the same one shown in your photos). I remember one of the hottest “disco” songs which they played then was “Long Cool Woman (in a black dress)” by the Hollies.

    2. In my Pre-U science class, there were only 4 girls out of a class of about 40 students. (And you know what they say about all the pretty girls being in the arts stream? It is so true, isn’t it?) However comes prom night, all the girls, including those from the science stream, were in high demand, mainly because they were in such short supply, haha.

  7. 7 laokokok Tuesday, May 8, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Hi Victor,
    Yep, think I’m lucky to have quite a number of good teachers teaching me. As for those pre-u girls, I do know a number of them as I used to carry my camera round and taking photos of them hehe.

  8. 8 Kim Peow Monday, August 27, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Hi. Really nice to see those olg photo. I was from VS from 1970 -1974. Think still have the class photo and have to search for them.Will share with you all.

  9. 9 laokokok Monday, August 27, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Hi Kim Peow, then you are my senior! Welcome here.

  10. 10 Kim Peow Tuesday, September 4, 2007 at 10:31 am

    Hi lao,

    Thank Lao. Had forgotten which class I was in during the the Victorian day. But still keep my report book. Just remember sitting near the door facing the field during those day and really enjoy hearing those shouting from the stadium when there was school football match in the stadium.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,178,902 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

