70s English Textbooks

Here are my Higher Primary (Pri.4 to Pri.6) English textbooks from 1972 to 1974. They were Primary Situational English Book 6 to 8;

If you have read my previous post on My Pri. 2 Chinese Textbooks, you will not be surprised that I still have my Primary School English Textbooks. There is something which I do not understand until now – why are the textbooks labelled Number 6 to 8 for Primary 4 to 6? Anyone, any idea?

Here is how my Pri.6 (1974) English Textbook looked inside;

It’s not as colorful as the current English textbooks and that is expected. But there were some very interesting stories even my son enjoy reading them.

Let’s compare it to my son’s last year Pri.6 English textbook (2006);

The front cover is very similar for Pri.1 to 6 and thus rather monotonous compared to mine. Now let’s check the inside;

Woh, it’s definitely far much more colorful.

No matter what changes they have done to the English textbooks or syllabus, I personally find it difficult to understand how English is taught in our school. So what’s the best way to teach our kids Grammar, Vocab, etc…?

11 Responses to “70s English Textbooks”


  1. 1 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 6:26 am

    LKK:

    How come your textbooks so neat and so clean – never used b4 or what?

    Still got the smell?

  2. 2 laokokok Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Haha, clean? Got smell of old books leh.

  3. 3 C Sim Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:58 am

    If they looke new and clean, it means you never studied, rite? Hehehe…

    I would love a chance to see my old exercises book again…. haha.. Can’t remember if my handwriting is neat or untidy. But surely won’t be as bad as my son’s! Haha..

  4. 4 victor koo Friday, May 18, 2007 at 1:35 am

    Books are serialised 6, 7 and 8 because of extended stream? Express stream students take 6 years to finish 8 books while extended stream students take 8 years? Just guessing only. (BTW, I think they have officially dropped the term “extended” already because no matter what you call it, it carries a stigma.)

  5. 5 laokokok Friday, May 18, 2007 at 7:35 am

    Hi Victor, during the 60s and 70s, got express and extended stream??? During my time, it’s only 1 very normal stream leh. Not like now so complicated.

    Hi Sim, maybe during my time – the school bag are more like luggage, so can protect the books better haha.

  6. 6 By Mistake Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 7:14 am

    Well done !
    U have a good collection of the good old days here…

  7. 7 ich1978 Sunday, December 2, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    HI Lao KokKok

    Hmm my guess is tat during your time the system was stil using the old British naming convention.

    Form 6 – Pri 4, Form 7 – Pri 5 etc till Form 12 is “O” Levels… Form 14 is “A” Levels?

  8. 8 laokokok Sunday, December 9, 2007 at 10:43 am

    Yes and No. Think my time is where I start to learn both the systems haha. Frankly not only in that even for the Chinese language, we learned both types of pinyin and writing. Compared to the students nowadays like my kids, they only know simplified Chinese and Hanyu Pinyin.

  9. 9 natty Friday, May 23, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    wow.. you actually still keep your old books.. mine’s gone since i duno when.. have been looking for places which still have those books in Singapore… haha… wanna collect cuz it’s like gone from the shelves

  10. 10 laokokok Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Hi natty,
    Welcome here and you will be surprised what else my mother and I keep hehe.

  11. 11 hcl Friday, October 24, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Interesting blog u have here. I’m born in 1966. I remember my primary school longman english readers, beautiful books with stories like sleeping beauty and other fairy tales. D cover is black but the inside has beautiful n colourful pictures, much nicer than my son’s primary school books anytime! Also used preston english. Think they came in 3 colours – green, orange n blue?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,179,211 hits
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

