White Rabbit Sweet

This sweet has been selling for a long long time and it’s still selling well now though we are in the 21st Century, 2007. I remember eating these sweets especially during the Chinese New Year at my Godmother’s house in Beatty Road.

What so special about this sweet is that – it’s one of those few sweets that has an edible wrapper paper. It just melts in the mouth!

And all these while I thought that this White Rabbit Sweet comes only in White (Vanilla) flavour, but my daughter pointed out to me at the Museum Shop that it has a new Chocolate flavour – new to us at least;

Anyway, I still prefer the original white! Haha, I’m not the only one that like this Rabbit Sweet I guess. For those that have not try it before, only the translucent wrapper is edible – not the printed rabbit wrapper.

23 Responses to “White Rabbit Sweet”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Tuesday, June 12, 2007 at 10:42 am

    I liked the coconut flavoured type. Sometimes they have a 5 cts coin embedded in it.

  2. 2 py Tuesday, June 12, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Oh yah, there is also red bean, strawberry flavour. The edible wrapper always amaze me. When I eat this sweet, I would ask how the edible wrapper was manufactured.

  3. 3 laokokok Wednesday, June 13, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Wait, wait… are you guys telling me the Rabbit Sweet comes in so many flavour? Or is other types of sweets with edible wrapper?

  4. 4 py Friday, June 15, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Yes, there are many flavour, with edible wrapper. I saw the museum shop at the National Museum of Singapore selling different flavours of Rabbit Sweet. One packet for $1.

  5. 5 bigdaddy Sunday, June 17, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Yeah, I used to love these too. But did you noticed that they taste different nowadays? They used to be soft(er), but recently, they’re almost rock-hard! Guess there’s a new chef in town… haha 🙂

  6. 6 laokokok Monday, June 18, 2007 at 10:28 am

    So far, I’ve only seen the chocolate flavour at the Museum Shop. Those sold commonly at the NTUC and Shop and Save are mainly Vanilla flavour.

  7. 7 mel Tuesday, June 19, 2007 at 5:12 am

    I thought only Singapore has this sweet till we moved to Vancouver, Canada last year. So glad to be able to find them here too.
    I always keep a packet handy with me, love this sweet, my kid love it too!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Rabbit_Creamy_Candy

    Another titbit worth mentioning:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haw_flakes

    Thanks for your nostalgic blog…..

  8. 8 laokokok Tuesday, June 19, 2007 at 10:27 am

    Thanks for mentioning Mel. Yes, that flakes are also something that we used to have when young.

  9. 9 Bobo Tuesday, June 19, 2007 at 11:23 am

    hiyee… I miss those times when the sweet will stick on all my teeth!!!! And I’ll be so afraid that I’ll get tooth decay but I still eat them! haha 🙂 Hope you dun mind me linking ya. 🙂

  10. 11 Lis Friday, June 22, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    I love the rabbit sweets too. Never knew there were other flavours!

  11. 12 emily Tse Saturday, July 21, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    i love them i eat them all the time. i’ve had chocolate, coconut, strawberry + the normal one they taste nice!! ^_^

  12. 13 laokokok Monday, July 23, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Luckily we can still continue to eat them here in Singapore after the AVA found them to be safe.

  13. 14 Em Friday, January 25, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    the tranlusant sht is apparently made outa rice… at least tts wad my mum said… to come think of it.. 10 yrs ago when i eat this aso dun care wad its made of… juz eat.. hehe.. quite funni actually… n i nvr knew there were so manii flavours! x

  14. 15 Meta Thursday, March 6, 2008 at 7:11 am

    I lived about 11 years in singapore and now living in germany and this candy white rabbit I first time tasted as child in singapore and until now in germany I can buy it tooo – but it is for me now a special candy cost the price is high. But everytime when I eat it, my mind goes back to Singapore the city I will never forget it.

  15. 16 laokokok Friday, March 7, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Hi Meta,
    Welcome to my blog. I’m surprised you can find this White Rabbit candy in Germany too.

  16. 17 fox Saturday, April 5, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    hi
    i live in england and i have looked for these sweets for years!!!!!
    today a new chinese supermarket opened they sell big bags of them for £1.26 i bought 5
    i love them
    only the white ones though

  17. 18 laokokok Monday, April 7, 2008 at 7:12 am

    Hi fox, you have the Rabbit sweets there too, Good! Me too prefer the white one.

  18. 19 Edward Singh Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    I would ike to contact the manufactureres of the White Rabbit Sweets.
    plese may I have their contact details.

  19. 20 laokokok Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    HI Edward,
    Maybe you can try the Business Directory, Yellow Pages or AVA. Think they may be able to help you.

  20. 21 Victor Koo Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    LKK, I hope you didn’t eat a lot of them.

  21. 22 laokokok Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Luckily me and my family didn’t eat too much of it hehe.

  22. 23 Acharis Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 10:02 am

    “laokokok
    Monday, July 23, 2007 at 7:49 am
    Luckily we can still continue to eat them here in Singapore after the AVA found them to be safe.”

    I guess it used to be safe once… It’s so hard now probably because they stopped using real milk and added melamine. Do you remember when you ascertained AVA finding these sweets safe? How come their checks stopped… I wonder if anyone here has gotten sick recently, from the favourable response to its yummy addictive taste.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,149,070 hits
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

