Man’s “wife”

Most men treat their cars especially their first car like or better than their wives. For me, it’s already a thing of the past since I’ve been driving for the past 20 over years and driven more than 10 over brands/models of cars.

My dad’s first and only car was a Peugeot 404 bought for only S$3,500 in the early 70s. It was a 3yrs old car and most people go for a Continental car instead of a Japanese car then – the reason guessed Chun See had mentioned it before in his blog.

The thing I remembered well was that my dad would start the car engine about 15 minutes beforehand so as to warm up the car! We enjoyed the drive from Serangoon to Changi Point for our usual swim; there wasn’t any expressway then.

I got my first car (a 3yrs old car also) in the early 80s and it was a Ford Laser 1.3L. Luckily there wasn’t such a thing as COE then.

Don’t know why men like to pose with their first car? Also many of us like to spend hours waxing and washing our cars. Now I can’t remember when was the last time I go for a car wash hehe.

I recalled after collecting my first car, I drove into Joo Chiat those small One-Way street and went against the traffic. I hit my headlight against a lamp post while doing a 3 point turn out! Fancy getting into an accident on the first day of driving my own car.

Throughout my years of driving, I’ve only bought one brand new car and that was during 1991 when COE was introduced recently then. My first brand new car was a Subaru Viki 800cc, a car which will trembled when a lorry drove past you. The COE then was less then $10K and thereafter it escalated sky high. After driving this car, I wouldn’t settle for any car less than 1,600cc.

Now with the COE, ERP, Insurance, Parking charges, Rd Tax, Petrol tax, etc… it’s really a heavy burden to own a car.

22 Responses to “Man’s “wife””


  1. 1 fiz Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Haha, that’s one wicked pose ..

  2. 2 Victor Koo Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    The batmobile certainly didn’t look like those cars. Haha.

  3. 3 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at 12:58 am

    Have u wondered why a man’s girlfriend never help to wash, dry or polish the car? Only know how to make comments……..Most times I bought car on HP. Only time I bought car and paid in cash was for my Honda Accord 1.6l in 1981. I think it was 32K then. Big mistake to pay cash. Next time I made a bigger mistake was to choose a blue color for my German car – I am colored blind. Seems that nobody teahc me that the color chart which is so small is not exactly like the real thing. Every time I drive I feel like a marked man.

  4. 4 laokokok Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Wicked pose?? Haha.

    The Batmobile has to downgrade in S’pore hehe.

    Wah Peter, what’s wrong with blue color? Unless the blue is similar to the NTUC Taxi blue….is it?

  5. 5 Lam Chun See Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at 9:31 am

    For a moment I thot you were going to blog about the AR15! Anyway, you have given me an idea to blog about my first car as well.

  6. 6 laokokok Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Haha Chun See, that’s our wives when we are in Green only.

  7. 7 Victor Koo Thursday, June 28, 2007 at 1:09 am

    “Big mistake to pay cash. Next time I made a bigger mistake was to choose a blue color for my German car – I am colored blind.”

    Peter, those were your girlfriend’s comments? Haha.

    I made an even bigger mistake – paid cash $100,800 for my Subaru Impreza (not WRX hor) in 1995 when the open COE was $47,000+. (Those were the days when the big car COE was $100,000+.) But then, I just sold my 3-year-old Mitsubishi Lancer 1.3 LS Manual for $44,000+ and was flushed with cash which I didn’t know where to invest, hee.

    The safest way to decide on the colour of the car is when you see the same model of car (e.g. the testdrive car) on the road with the colour that you like. I usually do that. It’s failsafe.

  8. 8 HamBearGer Thursday, June 28, 2007 at 9:28 am

    Whoa! U have driven 10 different models of cars. Impressive. How did you managed to do it? Buy, beg, borrow? (not steal lah, of course). I drive my cars “from the showroom to the scrap yard”. I am only recently into my 3rd car. Most likely current one will also drive until it fell apart and end up in the scrap yard!

  9. 9 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, June 28, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    My blue car german car got me into embarressing situations. One time I drove to the Mandarin Oriental Hotel and parked in front of the lobby to pick up a passenger. Some girls (20somehting) walked past my car and uttered “wah dity old man” can drive like this? U see I was dressed in a white singlet (got holes here and there) and sports shorts and slippers and here I was standing next to my new car. Those girls gave me the “kind of look” you can imagine as if saying “wanna have fun, old man?”

    Next time, my car was wrongly spotted in the Geylang area (“restricted areas”). When I got home, my wife asked what was I doing there on a Saturday afteroon. That day I was on the golf course but she was not convinced. U see there are 3 cars in Singapore with that special color (I checked with the car agent 6 months after I bought the car). True enough, the owner of that car “office” was in the Geylang area.

    Laokokok, how come you never ask bikini girl to pose on top of your car?

  10. 10 bigdaddy Thursday, June 28, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Nice post… I’m a sucker for old photos of Singapore streets capturing cars of yesteryear. Being a vintage car fanatic and a car-lover, I hope you can cover more ‘motoring stories’ in the future. Great stuff!

    By the way, this is my car blog http://www.myvwbeetle.wordpress.com

  11. 12 laokokok Friday, June 29, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Hi HamBearGer, as I usually buy second hand car except once for that Viki – so I don’t drive my car for too long. Also when young (in the 20s years old), I sometimes changed my car twice in a year.

    Some of the cars that I’ve driven were;
    – Ford Laser 1.3L
    – Mazda 626
    – Mit. Galant 1.6
    – Nissan Bluebird 1.6
    – Subaru Viki
    – Toyota Corolla Coupe
    – Subaru 1.6
    – Honda Accord 1.6A
    – Toyota Corona 1.6CD
    – Mit. Lancer 1.6
    – Etc…

  12. 13 laokokok Friday, June 29, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Hi Peter, that pose was taken in the airbase. Where got bikini girls haha?

  13. 14 laokokok Friday, June 29, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Hi BigDaddy, thanks for dropping by here. You have a very nice VW.

  14. 15 profkingsfield2004 Friday, June 29, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Laokokoko

    chnaging 2 cars/year wont u lose money although second-hand car?

  15. 16 laokokok Friday, June 29, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Many many years back, think it’s the 80s – when one bought a new car and later sell it (couple of years). One can make money out of it.

    For me, I didn’t make money but that was when I was young and ignorant – no family burden you see.

  16. 17 MonkeyWong Friday, June 29, 2007 at 11:35 am

    I don’t know why I just don’t like car, for me it’s just a machine to ‘carry around’, that’s why don’t even bother to wash it till my wife ‘jump on’ me and say: wei, better clean ur car, sitting inside like in rubbish bin you know! Then I only know I don’t wash it for more than 3 months! Me kanasai! 😛

  17. 18 Lam Chun See Saturday, June 30, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Victor, the S$47k you paid for your COE cost more than my house in Ipoh! – also bought around that time.

  18. 19 Victor Koo Monday, July 2, 2007 at 10:13 am

    Chun See – Aiyah, too bad I haven’t known you back then. If not, with the $44,000+ I got from the sale of the Mit Lancer, I could have got myself a nice house in Malaysia too instead of investing in another car (a depreciating asset).

  19. 20 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, July 4, 2007 at 6:40 am

    My father owned the Peuogeot 404 also; think it was 1965 – column gear I recalled seeing. Then we had the Peugeot 504 in 1972. 3 years later when a/c was introduced into Singapore cars, we bought a HItachi car a/c to fit into the Peugeot 504. Because the car a/c blower was the “box type” design it had to be mounted somewhere along the dashboard. Due to a lack of space, it was mounded below the glove compartment facing the front passenger. Unfortunately those that sat in front got cold wind blowing into his/her knees whereas those seated at the rear could not get the a/c wind.

    Since the a/c did not come as factory-fitted, it was a strain on the engine (mine you it was a 2 liter car) especially when caught in traffic congestion. each time we were caught, we had to turn off the a/c and wind down the window otherwise the thermostat reading would go close to the “red zone”.

    It took a while for my father to get used to the idea that Japanese cars were good if not much better than European cars. Finally the need for a/c won the day and he soon switched to a Japanese car, a HOnda in the late 1970s.

    Laokok, do you have the picture of the interior of the 404? If got can share?

  20. 21 laokokok Wednesday, July 4, 2007 at 7:37 am

    Sorry, I don’t have a photo of the 404 interior. Come to think of it, I don’t think my dad ever take a photo of the interior – those times it was film and not digital, so most ppl don’t just click and click hehe.

  21. 22 Retro Tuesday, August 28, 2007 at 12:32 am

    I personally love vintage toys. It’s fun finding the toys you had as a kid, or the ones you always wanted.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,149,070 hits
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

