Ah Gong’s Boxers

It’s been quite sometime when I last seen this type of boxers (briefs or underwear) worn by my godfather in the 60s and 70s;

Saw this pair of boxers at the “Stamp Museum” second floor. Yep, most of them were like pajamas stripes type of pattern, though some were just dark blue plain color – those worn by my father.

I’ve always wonder where do they sell such boxers or all are self-made? Of course, nowadays the boxers come in plenty of nice design. Why I call it Ah Gong’s Boxers? Simply because I think it’ from my Grandfather’s generation up haha.

7 Responses to “Ah Gong’s Boxers”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Friday, July 6, 2007 at 9:32 am

    There’s an old man near my place who still wears such boxer shorts in his backyard. My children dubbed him ‘the big panties man’.

  2. 2 Vivienne Quek Friday, July 6, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    BTW, I still saw them in one old shop in Chinatown.

  3. 3 laokokok Monday, July 9, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Maybe I should check those bamboo sticks hanging around for anyone still using such boxers hehe.

  4. 4 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, July 12, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    The 1960s were always special. When I went to primary school I wore no underwear. I saw some of classmates wear blue colored with stripe boxer shorts. By the time I got to primary 5, puberty arrived and I had to wear white Crocodile undies.

    Many of my classmates either did not wear undies or switched to boxer shorts. The boxer shorts could always be seen when we wore our school uniforms because the unform was shorter by at least 1 inch than the boxer shorts. Then I found my classmates always putting their hands behind their back to pull up the boxer shorts.

    One day a Malay classmate freind of mine called Osman bin Ali was called up by the principal because the lady teacher complained that Osman’s private thing could be seen when ever he squatted. But Omar could not afford Crocodile undies nor wear boxer shorts because he was a Malay. I wonder how did our other Malay friends handle the situation?

  5. 5 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, July 12, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    In secondary school in RI, some of my friends wore swimming trunks instead of Crocodile undies or boxer shorts. One firend I knew wore for 5 days without washing. Some even wore the school black running shorts as underwear. Tan Wee Kiat obnviously knows in his time teahcing at RI, some of his students did not wear underwear to school because they were too poor to afford one.

  6. 6 laokokok Friday, July 13, 2007 at 7:34 am

    Good recollection Peter, thanks.

  7. 7 ottoman furniture Friday, May 24, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article.
    Thanks for supplying this info.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,158,394 hits
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

