My Pager Number Is 40x xx47

My Pager Number is 40x xx47 …. When I first said that in the late 80s, I felt so proud of being the owner of a pager. You don’t see people wearing a pager nowadays too (or maybe not too common);

The one on the left was my first pager in 1989 when I had my first sales job. At that time, it was still 7 digits without the 9 added to the pager number. At least, mine was considered new fashion if you compared it with those long and skinny type of pagers without any display. Those were probably the first generation of pagers I’ve come across – just a simple beep with no display; when you received a beep, you just returned a call to the company (usually it’s used by the company you worked for).

Take note of that old Telecom logo on the pager. Here are the receipts I still kept, my goodness – $260 for a pager!

25 Responses to “My Pager Number Is 40x xx47”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Thursday, August 16, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Alamak, why did you blank out the pager number? Still afraid someone will page for you ah? 🙂

    4047 will a hot 4D number this weekend, I can assure you.

    I was still using a pager less than 10 years ago.

  2. 2 JustCate Thursday, August 16, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    I think the only people using pagers now might be the doctors. Even then, many doctors have switched to mobile phones.

  3. 3 pristan Sunday, August 19, 2007 at 1:45 am

    heh. memories…

    It used to be very cool to have a PAGER and I remembered my first pager cost quite a bit too…

  4. 4 Lam Chun See Sunday, August 19, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    LKK. On different subject, I have been tasked by my fellow Friends of Yesterday to persuade you to join us. Yesterday, we have a gathering at Bishan to meet the authors of the latest book. Please see Kenneth’s blog about this and see what you are missing.

  5. 5 profkingsfield2004 Monday, August 20, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Pager – No. Mobile Phone – Yes. I was fortunate or a sucker to be the first user. BIG bulky Motorola AMPS system – think it was $2,500 then in 1990 when mobil service started in Singapore. Then I switched to OKI – also bulk. Cost -$2,100.

    I have seen the DANCALL mobil phone model – handset like Motorola but battery like a car battery. Popular in Malaysia and Indonesia.

    I last upgraded my mobile phone which S$0/- and so portable that I didnt know it was inside my pocket. I checked with SingTEL when was my present number issued. She said 1994.

  6. 6 WaterLearner Tuesday, August 21, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Hi!

    Reading about pagers gives me a feeling of nostalgia. Ten years ago, I had my first and only pager (a pink motorola one) that was a gift from my brother. It felt so cool and funky carrying a pager then.

    Blessings

  7. 7 laokokok Tuesday, August 21, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Hi Victor, is that really a hot number hehe?

    Hi Chun See, thanks for the invitation and Victor had also spoken to me on that. But currently, I would still prefer to maintain my ‘Batman’ status.

  8. 8 Victor Koo Wednesday, August 22, 2007 at 10:06 am

    I remember some FOYer labelling me as “publicity shy” not too long ago. Adoi, you seem to be worse. Aiyah, you still can continue to maintain your ‘Batman’ status on your blog what. (As you probably know, I am still maintaining my ‘tai chi’ status on my blog, hehe.) But with FOYers, you don’t have to be shy one. Can unmask anytime.

  9. 9 laokokok Wednesday, August 22, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Haha Victor, I’m not shy… but just the timing is not right yet. I’ve to settle my personal issues first.

  10. 10 Lam Chun See Wednesday, August 22, 2007 at 10:33 am

    “I would still prefer to maintain my ‘Batman’ status” … Watch out you baddies!

  11. 11 profkingsfield2004 Friday, August 24, 2007 at 9:03 am

    These days, doctors working in hospitals carry mobile, supplied by the hospital. THis was told to me by my son.

  12. 12 John Harper Sunday, September 2, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Back in the 1970s we had very simple pagers that just bleeped and flashed and only worked within the factory. To use them you had to phone the switchboard and ask the operator to “bleep” the person you wanted to contact and ask them to phone you. If our chief engineer was in playful mood he would watch for the packaging engineers supervisor going to the toilet and give him just enough time to get comfortably seated and then get the switchboard to bleep him. Fortunately the chap on the receiving end had a good sense of humour and took it good part.

  13. 13 http://wallinside.com/post.php?id=3708196 Thursday, April 25, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    Definitely believe that that you stated. Your favourite reason seemed to be on
    the net the simplest thing to keep in mind of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked whilst folks consider concerns that they plainly do not recognise about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects , other people can
    take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  14. 14 how to cure hemorrhoids at home Saturday, April 27, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    Post writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with afterward you can write or
    else it is complicated to write.

  15. 15 chatrandom Wednesday, May 1, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your
    site in my social networks!

  16. 16 Georgeman.de Tuesday, May 7, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    Hey ist the left one Flex too?

  17. 17 http://blogs.albawaba.com/tonjadonal/115920/2013/04/15/635932-hemoroide Wednesday, May 8, 2013 at 5:11 am

    My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was once totally right.

    This submit truly made my day. You can not consider just how a lot time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

  18. 18 http://www.shanerubaggusaisin.com Wednesday, May 8, 2013 at 5:26 am

    Cheap Burberry Handbags These furnishings can be a good
    choice. 5L models with the “Iridescence” allowance box, despite well-designed counterfeit bright Jiuzun base, so that this cut apparent just appropriate bright reflects “Iridescence” the
    cradle of each and every neon, for the account of Hennessy cheap ugg boot Salon
    goes for the a great deal of admirable style. And reproductions could possibly appearance
    just as terrific.

  19. 19 Monica Wednesday, May 8, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in
    this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to show
    that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I such a lot for sure will make sure to do not forget this web site and give it a look regularly.

  20. 20 Zoila Thursday, May 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    If some one wants to be updated with newest technologies afterward he must be pay a quick
    visit this web site and be up to date daily.

  21. 21 Jeanne Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:02 am

    After looking at a handful of the blog articles on your web site, I truly appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon.

    Take a look at my website too and tell me what you think.

  22. 22 nagelpilz essig Friday, June 14, 2013 at 5:58 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on hexadecimal system.
    Regards

  23. 23 Ruby Gibson Friday, June 28, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share. Kudos! Anaheim Roofing, 1234 East Lincoln Avenue, Anaheim, CA, 92805, US, 714-770-8680

  24. 24 moncler jackets canada http://powerofsalehome.ca/north-face-canada.html Sunday, December 29, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    Danke fuer die schoene Zeit hier. Macht weiter bitte so.
    Da kommt man gerne wieder.
    the north face canada Why we don run more screens.
    Why we don put WR in motion and run underneath drag routes.
    For our coaches genius, I have faith that this. Against each other of your
    pocket. He playing football. He plays a hostile form of football.
    We’re given props for site belonging to the best in the rising
    music business Sam Adams, Na Palm, Mother nature
    Remixes, The White Panda, Collin McLoughlin, Loggy etc.
    Live music makes money. Today, bands release
    recorded music to encourage their tours, whereas Few years ago they did tours to encourage
    their albums.the north face canada
    the north face canada Amino acids will also be useful for elderly people in optimizing protein storage.
    Consider your body to be a huge traditional bank that can
    contain a gradual running time when you are older. If you are young,
    you will put in just as much as you are able to and then your body will easily enough process all you
    could put in.

    With our class we created many projects that reflect students feelings about
    the special people in their lives. My kindergarten students opted
    for special someone and drew several on a planning page.
    They used the app Explain Everything and drew a graphic of their mom
    (special someone) while they were preaching about the special aspects of the person..the north face canada
    the north face canada He graduated from Rowan University.
    The Somerset County native set in his 34th year along at the Courier News.

    He’s the dad of three children Thomas, 23,, Nicole,
    21 and Jamie Janeen 19. Capacity for empathy along with perhaps kindness
    is pretty limited lately. When she chastises young Lizzie if you are
    weak and not being able to stick a knife in their own dying father ear, I am able
    to help wondering what she wishes to accomplish.
    Lizzie responds using the episode third silly question, they kill Nick?
    Nick being dead for many years but just refusing to visit peacefully..the north face canada


  1. 1 レディース スリッパ Trackback on Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,167,324 hits
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

