Archive for August 21st, 2007

My Memories of Toa Payoh

My earliest visits to Toa Payoh were for my majong sessions with my Poly classmates. I don’t think I could remember which Lorong Jeffrey Heng stayed… Every trip there brought excitement to me. I loved the big old bus interchange and the hawker centre besides it. We ate there before going to his house for majong.

– Bus Interchange

Sad that the old bus interchange was demolished in 1999 to make way for the HDB Hub (HDB shift their HQ from Jalan Bukit Merah to here). So the bus interchange relocate to a temporary location opposite its original site and then shift back after the Hub was completed.

Here is how the old bus interchange looked like in 1988;

Photo credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

Below the temporary bus interchange in 2002;

Photo credit : dgf6928 (definitely not me in the photo, so don’t be mistaken – just someone off the net that I don’t know)

The new Toa Payoh air-conditioned bus interchange (first in Singapore) at the HDB Hub;

– Toa Payoh Library

Of course, the nearby Toa Payoh Library was another must visit then when I needed to borrow some books. In front of the library, there was a fountain but now it’s replaced by amphitheatre. The library together with the fountain was built in 1973;

The fountain in front of the library in the 80s;

Photo Credit : HDB, Designed For Living

The above photo you can see the cinema besides it and the old bus stop on the right hand side.

How the library looks like after a face lift;

Below the amphitheater in front of the library;

Below you can see the HDB Hub building behind the library;

Photo credit : Jakrapong
– Toa Payoh Garden

Remember this was the landmark of most wedding couples having their wedding photos taken here then.

This was the Toa Payoh Garden Restaurant in the 80s;

Photo credit : Yiho

How it looks now;

Above 2 photo credit : Sophiazz

Photo credit : Chyeo1979

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,179,211 hits
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031