Traditional Pastries I’ve Eaten

These are the 2 traditional pastries I’ve eaten during my childhood. My godparents used to buy them home when they came back from shopping or marketing. Probably during that time, there were no such craze as ‘curry that puffs’, ‘roti-boys’, ‘bread that talk’, ‘donnuts that need to queue’, etc…

No doubt there were many types of pastries then, but these 2 are my favourites because of their unique shapes, designs and probably packaging. Though they don’t taste fantastic back then, but.. not too bad and still can finish the whole piece or more.

Some of the traditional cake shops still sell these pastries but they are not so commonly available. Let’s take a closer look at the first one;

These are still wrapped in the traditional plain pink color paper. I like to ‘peel’ them off one by one and eat them as shown above. But this one I bought, though look alike, the taste is not the same. It is very much like sugar taste now and after taking one ‘slice’, I gave up.

Now the second one – the round brown one. It’s still the same shape but I’m not too sure of the word is the same compared to the past haha. No doubt, it’s rather soft when you peel off the paper at the bottom, but this one taste even worse than the first one (to me). I took one bite and throw away the rest.

I’m not too sure if the above are made for offering instead of eating. The taste is longer the same old traditional taste I’ve eaten…sigh…

11 Responses to “Traditional Pastries I’ve Eaten”


  1. 1 Lam Chun See Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Hey. You beat me to it. I have been wanting to blog about this for a long time. I too liked to eat these 2 types of pastry. For the 2nd one, the round yellow one, I like to peel off the outer ring and eat it first.

    The other one is the tou-yong pang. I introduced some of these traditional pastries to my kids and they liked shat-kare-ma and tou-sar piah. We usual buy from the shop next to NLB Bt Merah.

  2. 2 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    I used to patronize those shops in the Wanchai area – Des Voux Road in HK. Reminds me how much Chinatown should look like. Shops lighted -up in the daytime and selling “Loh Po Pan”.

  3. 3 laokokok Wednesday, October 3, 2007 at 8:02 am

    It seems like I got the pastries from the wrong shop at Beach Rd haha. Maybe that’s for offering (praying used) only. Tou sar piah and loh po pan are also nice but cannot eat too much for me…

  4. 4 Stephanie Kok Wednesday, October 3, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    i remember those pastries, i see people use it for offering..anyway the taste is “yulks”..it is only meant for “alien” i think..

  5. 5 laokokok Thursday, October 4, 2007 at 7:45 am

    Seems like I’m not the only one who find the taste “yulks” now. But it’s really too much difference compared to the past.

  6. 6 Victor Koo Friday, October 5, 2007 at 9:05 am

    The first white type is called Man Peen Gou in Cantonese. Not sure how the first word is written but it sounds like 文 while the 2nd and 3rd words should be 片糕.

    I believe the second type is made from green beans. Hence it is called Lok Tau Pehng (绿豆饼). The ones I used to eat were darker in colour and marked with some red ink. I also can’t remember what was the Chinese word embossed on it.

    There is another type of ancient cake/pastry that deserves a mention here. It’s called Dai Fook Pehng in Cantonese or 大福饼. It is about 4-inch in diameter, round, flat and paunchy towards the centre. It is usually covered with white flour. Taste slightly sweet. Eating one is usually enough for an average kid’s appetite.

    Of course, as kids we also liked to eat San Char Pehng too. These are thin haw flakes of about the old 20-cent coin size (about 1-inch in diameter). The flakes are blood-red in colour and are packed in cylindrical paper package of about 20 pieces each. Two packs were sold for 5 cents during my time. I think they are still available today too.

  7. 7 laokokok Friday, October 5, 2007 at 9:13 am

    Thanks Victor for the reminder of the names of pastries, I’ve forgotten about them. Regarding 大福饼, I remember this was sold together with those traditional bread by a seller who hawker them in his bicycle in the 70s at Beatty Rd area. Yes, this 大福饼 taste real good when I was young but I couldn’t find this around anymore or my eyesight also getting bad nowadays haha.

    San Char is still around but seems like the kids nowadays don’t really fancy all these food stuffs, don’t know why?

  8. 8 remembered them... Friday, October 12, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Can someone tell me what’s the meaning /history of all these pastries?
    Also like to know where can i find the link of all the
    singapore ‘olden’ days pastries; delicacy & food eg. what is the story behind our morning breakfast – half boil eggs etc? It’s interesting to know all this background.
    Thanks yeah

  9. 9 laokokok Tuesday, October 16, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Hi Remembered them, that may be a problem haha. Not all pastries got any meaning behind them or their history documented.

    Sorry, didn’t know about the half boiled eggs story – anyone?

  10. 10 M Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I am slowly going through the old posts and saw this post.

    I always thought the white pastry was known wan peen gou (云片糕), meaning piece of cloud, given that it is white…

    I used to eat them after a prayer session or after my mum brought us to the temple…

    I also bought some a few months ago for my nephews, who loved them, but it was a little sweeter and harder than I remember them to be. Good traditional pastry can be found at the shop at China Square (opp PWC building), great selection there too. The crowd favorites are bay teh sor and tau sar piah… They also have those thin colourful slices of biscuit (the kind that is the size of a child’s face) on sale. I remember they used to be 5cts a piece when I was a kid… I think they are now probably 50cts a piece thanks to inflation!

  11. 11 laokokok Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Thanks M. Oh no, even you remind me of the name “云片糕”, I still cannot recall….


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,158,394 hits
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

