My First Nintendo

Those who have read my previous post on the old Casio Calculator Space Invader game, may also like this.

No it wasn’t the Nintendo Game Boy my son is playing, it was a very simple handheld single game type! Called it “Game & Watch”;

It’s not so expensive though but the LCD screen resolution and color is a far cry from the games nowadays. Each set has 2 games : Game A and Game B – Game B is the same but at a faster speed. At that time (in the early 80s), a lot of youngsters were addicted to this game set! Almost everywhere you can see them playing as there were many different games. Among them, my favourite was the Octopus one;

The battery was not those rechargeable type like the GameBoy now. To change to a different game then means to buy another new game set.

My son’s GameBoy – what he called the SP Advance was so expensive when we first bought it few years back and now, the price dropped like hell. It even has a carry pouch;

Even the external appearance is enough to attract one to play;

It’s resolution and color of course were much better than my old “GameBoy”;

Now to change game is easy, just buy a new cartridge (expensive though).

Any place still sell the old Game & Watch?

If you can’t find them anymore, fret not. Play it online here at Retro Remake.

28 Responses to “My First Nintendo”


  1. 1 acroamatic Tuesday, November 6, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Ahhh… I had the Popeye game. He’s in a row boat and he (rather, the player) had to catch things which Bluto was throwing off a ship.

    Something like that…

  2. 2 victor koo Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 12:17 am

    I had two such games. One was a man crossing two gaps on a bridge. Had to “lay the plank” for him to cross, otherwise he would fall into the gap and die. Can’t remember the name for that one. The other one was called “Chef” and the chef kept throwing sausages and eggs up into the air. Had to catch the falling food with the frying pan.

  3. 3 laokokok Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Wah, so you guys still have it! That’s great.

    BTW Victor, already email to you. Sorry for the late reply.

  4. 4 hyacinthus Saturday, November 10, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    I used to have both games and one that’s call western bar.

    Thrown away when we moved 8 years ago.

    Like the one catching eggs… get faster when the scores are high.

  5. 5 laokokok Monday, November 12, 2007 at 7:50 am

    Oh yes Hyacinthus, the catching eggs one also fun to play.

  6. 6 daddyto3 Monday, November 12, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Brilliant!! Do you also remember others such as Atari and Sega? I believe those were played on the TV monitor… more like today’s PS3 or Xbox (rather than Nintendo handhelds). Those games had state-of-the-art “joy-sticks” back then 🙂

  7. 7 Victor Koo Monday, November 12, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    No, I don’t have the games anymore. I must have thrown them away long ago. I remember the name of the other game now. It was called “Manhole” and therefore the man was not crossing a bridge but walking on the road. You must cover the manhole to prevent him from falling in and losing a live, literally.

  8. 8 JH Tuesday, November 13, 2007 at 1:39 am

    I remember those game machines ! Those were the days when I was young and it was very fun for me !

    Love to visit your blog, going back in history, brings back lots of memories for me especially my childhood.

    Thanks for the wonderful memories !

    JH
    http://photojouralism-tgh.blogspot.com

  9. 9 laokokok Tuesday, November 13, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Hi Daddyto3, yes I remember those Atari sets but during that time, couldn’t afford it…

    Hi JH, welcome here and hope to see you here again.

  10. 10 Patricea Chow Tuesday, November 13, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    I had the Octopus game. There was also one that was set in a country wester bar, where you had to shoot glasses or bottles or something like that. Cannot recall very well the game now.

  11. 11 Peace Thursday, December 27, 2007 at 12:38 am

    Wow, so glad to see ‘my digital game’ of my time. I have a few, like Popeye, the octopus, bars and so on. I am surprised to see it here.

  12. 12 Damien Monday, January 21, 2008 at 11:18 am

    This is great , wondering where can all this game be found again.

  13. 13 laokokok Monday, January 21, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I have found the Casio Game and Watch in Hong Kong nostalgia toy shops recently but the price is too high….

  14. 14 geekycoder Wednesday, January 30, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    The octopus game&watch cost $35 SingDollars. I recalled that because I almost got one during my school day. That amount was a lot in those day. A popular place to buy those gadgets were OG, People Park. I remembered they stuffed all short of computer game gadget ranging between $35 to $300 Sing$$$ and put them on display. Unfortunately in those day, camera and processing was expensive to student like me and thus unable to capture those nostalgic moment.

  15. 15 laokokok Thursday, January 31, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Hi Geekycoder,
    Welcome here. Didn’t remember it cost $35! That’s pretty expensive come to think of it.

  16. 16 Dr. Abraham Monday, April 21, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Can anyone tell me how I can get hold of the oldie goldies? The Casio Handheld Games like Octopus, Chef with the frying pan, Monkey throwing Coconuts, etc? Ah, the good old days.

    Thanks… and a great writeup.

  17. 17 Dr. Abraham Monday, April 21, 2008 at 4:50 am

    How do I buy one of these oldie goldies? Where do you get them now….?

  18. 18 laokokok Monday, April 21, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Hi Dr.Abraham,
    I’m not too sure if you can still find them in Singapore.

  19. 19 maple3 Sunday, December 21, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    i am looking for the nintendo watch and game octupus, fireman, mickey mouse and popeye. anyone can tell me where i can buy them in sg please?

  20. 20 maple3 Sunday, December 21, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Dr. Abraham, did you manage to find them?

  21. 21 Alexander Gan Friday, May 21, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Even though I’m eleven, I don’t have a GameBoy but DO know about the Game & Watch. Yes, LCD games are a far cry from today’s handheld games. However, the fact that it is a collectible item makes me appreciate it much more than other gaming consoles.

  22. 22 webcamchat Friday, May 10, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information,
    but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  23. 23 http://www.reise-finanzen-blog.de/ursache-und-behandlung/2012/08/19 Saturday, May 11, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    Excellent website. Lots of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you in your sweat!

  24. 24 Zahnzusatzversicherung Wednesday, May 15, 2013 at 4:43 am

    It’s an amazing article in support of all the online viewers; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  25. 25 Emorroidi In Gravidanza Preparazione H Friday, May 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My
    website has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any techniques to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.

  26. 26 Laurie Friday, May 31, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Hey! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a
    theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thank you!

  27. 27 hemorroides Friday, May 31, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    This is the right website for everyone who wishes to
    understand this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually
    will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a
    subject that has been discussed for decades. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  28. 28 Fettverbrennungsofen Friday, June 14, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room
    mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this
    post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,149,070 hits
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

