My 10 Cents Bowl Of Noodle

Of course this bowl of fish ball noodle costs more than 10 cents now in a food court. I remembered when I was a primary school boy in Beatty Primary School, around 70s, I paid only 10 cents for 1 bowl of fish ball noodle.

Though the quantity was not much, but it tasted so wonderful! Was it really so tasty? Or because the joy of having making your own decision to buy whatever food you like without your parents interference in the school tuckshop (we used to call the canteen – tuckshop then)? I guess so too….

The other thing about eating noodle soup in the school tuckshop was after finishing it, we could just walked right into the stall to refill the soup as many times as we like. I would tried to scoop right to the bottom hoping to find some leftover fishcake or meat in the soup. After refilling the soup, I would add in more chilli to add taste to the soup.

Well just a simple thing like this could made us very happy then. Of course, life was simple then. The bowl design was very similar to this one below, those “cock” pattern bowl;

Now a bowl of fish ball noodle in my girl’s primary school canteen costs her 60 cents. Of course the kids now will not bother about such free refilling of soup any more.

15 Responses to “My 10 Cents Bowl Of Noodle”


  1. 1 acroamatic Monday, July 21, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Ah, those noodles cost about 30 cents when I was in primary school. That was mid to late 80s.

  2. 2 Victor Koo Monday, July 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    At my time in the 1960s, it was 5-cent for a small bowl of yellow noodles and 10-cent for a big one. Can’t remember if any ingredients like fish cake/ball in it but I simply loved the very hot chilli sauce (“self-service” from an earthen pot) that went very well with the dry noodles. Yes, the soup that went into the same bowl later tasted superb as well.

  3. 3 Lam Chun See Monday, July 21, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Wah you guys are lucky. In ACS in the 60’s already, a bowl of beef kuey teow cost 20 cts (small) and 30 cts (large).

  4. 4 laokokok Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Chun See, yours beef probably costs more lah.

    Well, we can see the price going up from Victor’s time in 60s from 5 cents to Acroamatic’s time 30 cents in 80s!

  5. 5 Timothy Friday, July 25, 2008 at 11:20 am

    There is this noddle stall in my primary school tuck shop who use to cut up fish cake into slides and sell them for 10c each. I use to buy the corner slides(cos those for the slightly bigger pieces) and dip them in the home make chilli sauce provided. Wonder if they sell them at schools now.

  6. 6 peek-a-boo Monday, July 28, 2008 at 5:36 am

    Sometimes for a change from the usual bowl of noddel soup(30cts Katong Convent in the 70s)I varied with mee rebus or my favourite ‘sweet mee’.Just noodels fried simply in sweet dark soya sauce with the odd piece of fish cake in it if you were lucky.There was always that unbearable rush to the tuckshop during recess time as we had only 20mins to run there,queue up in the snakepit line,find a bench free,eat up the meal quickly so we could chat a little until the bell rang.Recess time was too short and for me nerve wrecking at times.I didn’t always have enough pocket money to eat what I wanted and sometimes had to do with just a 5cts drink in a plastic cup and half of my best friend’s friend’s pow.

  7. 7 kabluey Monday, September 8, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Just thought i would share the first 4.5 years of my primary school life in Petaling Jaya… a bowl of noodle soup would cost 30-40 cents (RM). When i came to Singapore in 1989, my best memories of the tuck shop was having to buy fishcakes for some reason and then pouring chilli sauce into the plastic bag and rubbing the chilli sauce all over the fishcake. Heh.

  8. 8 passerby Monday, September 8, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Hey, I only went to primary school in Singapore from 1996-2001 (so recent right) and one of my fondest memories is almost the same! Buying steamed sausages and then squeezing the chilli sauce in the bag, rubbing it all around and waiting desperately for it to cool. I can’t remember how much it was though, prices were a lot higher than in 1989 I’m sure…

  9. 9 Mark Tan Wednesday, September 10, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Growing up in Chin Swee Road I remember clearly that a decent bowl of soup noodles with a variety of ingridients from the itinerant hawker stall was 20cts, while Char Kway Teow was 10 cents, or 20 cents with one egg. Shool tuck shop food cannot be considered as they were invariably of poor quality.

  10. 10 Linda Wednesday, September 24, 2008 at 12:13 am

    The bowl of fishball or fishcake noodles at my school (Fowlie) during the mid to late 1980s cost 30 cents for a small portion and 50 cents for a bigger one. I also recall buying plain chee cheong fan for 30 cents; soft drinks in a plastic cup for 20 cents; chicken wings for 50 cents; and ice cream for 20 cents. At secondary school (Hai Sing), the chicken rice was S$1 and drinks cost us 40 or 50 cents.

  11. 11 laokokok Thursday, September 25, 2008 at 8:24 am

    Didn’t know that in the 80s, the prices in school already gone up!

  12. 12 Ah An Tuesday, October 7, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Good morning LKK,

    I am 3 years younger than you .. hehe

    I guess the noodles (and with other food) in the early days taste better cos most of them are hand-made, cooked with the stall owner’s heart and most importantly – it contains pork lard.

  13. 13 laokokok Wednesday, October 8, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Hi Ah An,
    Thanks for surfing by. Guess you are right. It really taste much better.

  14. 14 Linus Pauling Vitamin C product formula Sunday, April 28, 2013 at 2:04 am

    This post is truly a good one it assists new net users, who are wishing for blogging.

  15. 15 Racing Rivals Hack Iphone Friday, September 26, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    You actually make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I
    to find this matter to be actually one thing that I feel I would by no
    means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and extremely huge for me.

    I’m taking a look ahead in your next publish, I will attempt to get the
    cling of it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,158,394 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

