The HDB Logo

When I showed some friends the above logo, some may thought that it was those fake HDB logo that those bogus contractors used to cheat housewives into renovating their flats. No, it is NOT those fake HDB logo, but the old HDB logo.

Most of us may know that HDB was established on 1 Feb 1960 as a statutory board responsible for Singapore’s public housing. It’s objective then was of course to build low-cost housing for low-income Singaporeans to tackle the massive housing shortage inherited from the colonial government.

So when was this logo first in used? I’ve no idea too hehe. All that I knew was the logo was already there in 1965. See the old logo on the banner during the balloting ceremony in 1965;

Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

It was probably still being used through the 70s as shown in the 1978 balloting;

Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

I suspect the new logo was used in 1980 as can be seen the old and new logo was used in the same year. The old logo was still used in the 1980 Bras Basah Complex Balloting exercise;

Credit : National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

But the new logo was also used in 1980 in the following.  The 1980 Kreta Ayer Balloting exercise;

And the construction sign board at Kerbau Rd in 1980;

Credit : Above 2 – National Archives of Singapore, PICAS

Before I end, here is the HDB new or current logo since 1980;

Notice the difference between the old one?

5 Responses to “The HDB Logo”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at 12:29 am

    >“Notice the difference between the old one?”

    Ya, no more bricks. New HDB flats now use pre-fab.

  2. 2 laokokok Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Haha, you are right Victor.

  3. 3 Muikoon Friday, October 17, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Hi,

    I sent you an email a couple of weeks ago regarding your old post on pagers. I came across your blog and i think your posts are really really great. everything you posted are old but to me, they are new cos i’ve never seen them before.

    I am producing a 2 part TV series for Channel NewsAsia on the evolution of communications technology. and in the first episode, we are looking at the pager! I want to interview someone who can tell me about his or her first pager and the experience of using a pager. I am also looking for a pager collector.

    I think you are the person we are looking for who would be able to give the viewers an interesting account of your first pager.

    Or maybe you would be able to recommend me someone else whom i can interview?

    Whichever the case, I just wish to speak to you personally and understand more about pagers. Please get back to me asap, preferably by today at muikoon@vertigo.com.sg or alternatively you can call me on my mobile which i gave you in the previous email.

    Thanks so much for your help and i would really really appreciate it if you could get back to me today.

    Regards,
    Muikoon

  4. 4 laokokok Friday, October 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Hi Muikoon,
    Sorry for the late reply. Pls check your email as I’ve just sent it out.

  5. 5 Lam Chun See Monday, October 20, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I remember first time moving into HDB flat from my kampong. I felt very cooped up and must get out of the house at least once a day. When after 12 years, I finally moved out to a landed property, one night it rained and I realised what I missed most in a hdb flat was the sound of rain on the roof!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,163,029 hits
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

