Guess What Quiz No.1

Most of the younger generation may not have seen this ‘Pass-Out’ shown in the below photo;

I’m only showing part of the whole photo above for this 1st part of the clue. I believe the older generation like Victor, Peter, Philip or Chun See may know the answer very well.

So Guess What is this ‘Pass-Out’ ?

Answer :

Philip got it right and Peek a boo came quite close to it but he is not quite definite about it. It is a cinema/theatre Pass-Out card for interval

Credit : Shaw Gallery at the Shaw Tower, Beach Road.

You can view the above at the Shaw Tower located at Beach Road.

But anyone knows why is it called ‘Pass-Out’? Have a guess.

18 Responses to “Guess What Quiz No.1”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Monday, December 15, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    LKK, this has something to do with NS, am I right? I am afraid I don’t know what is meant by “pass out” (because I didn’t really “pass in”). 🙂

  2. 2 Icemoon Monday, December 15, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Oh! No wonder, I keep on thinking it has to do with public transport.

    In that case, the pass-out is POP (passing out parade) in today’s context. Your BMT has ended and you are now a private ……. wait got people promote to Private First Class so fast?

    The non-transferable tells me it shouldn’t be NS lah. Maybe really public transport.

  3. 3 Victor Koo Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Ok, since I have taken bigger risks with my investments, no harm taking a little more risk with a 2nd guess. :p Since there are the words “1st class”, could it be an air ticket?

    Wait a minute, it could also mean “1st Class Sergeant”? And army ranks are not transferable too, as far as I know.

  4. 4 peek-a-boo Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Hmmmmm… has it something to do with permission to leave a concert (at the National Theatre etc) or cinema to go to the toilet outside?
    Its quite intriguing and I have no idea. Sounds like a question for the guys!LOL!

  5. 5 passerby Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 2:53 am

    University… honours program?

  6. 6 laokokok Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Haha, interesting answers. Can I have a more definite answer hehe.

  7. 7 laokokok Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 10:08 am

    By right Victor should know the answer…

  8. 8 Philip Chew Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    peek-a-boo was quite close. I think it is a pass for leaving the cinema hall during interval time.

  9. 9 Icemoon Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    From laokokok’s “By right, Victor should know the answer”, it could be something related to the military, maybe CMPB.

  10. 10 laokokok Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:42 am

    That’s right Philip got it right and Peek-a-boo came quite close but he was not definite about it. Victor should know because of his age hehe.

    It is a Cinema interval pass used in the past. When the audience wanted to leave the cinema for toilet or other purposes, they would be given these Pass-Out card and returned it upon entering again.

  11. 11 Victor Koo Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    >anyone knows why is it called ‘Pass-Out’?

    Obvious right? It was because such intervals were usually for you to “pass-out” something in the toilet.

  12. 12 Victor Koo Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    >By right Victor should know the answer…

    LKK, on the contrary, I don’t remember ever been given such a “pass-out” when I visited the cinemas in the 1970s. Most cinemas I visited like Capitol, Lido, Prince and Odeon already had built-in toilets then.

    On the other hand, I remember having the back of my hand chopped with a stamp that glowed under ultraviolet light when I needed to temporarily get out of Warehouse disco (in Havelock Road) in the 1980s.

    I think I am much younger than you think, may not be in body but certainly in mind and heart. 😉

  13. 13 peek-a-boo Sunday, December 21, 2008 at 1:45 am

    I don’t remember the cinema Pass Outs either but I think perhaps some of us missed out on it as it was stopped when we started to go to the cinema without adults.However I recall when I was really small at a concert at the National Theatre (I think it was with Anita Sarawak) the loo was outside and my brothers and I were given miniscule coloured square cardboard tickets to leave and enter the theatre.Its stuck in my mind because it made my mother laugh as she gave the blue ones to my brothers and the pink ones to us girls.

    Coming back to those Pass Out tickets of LKK perhaps they were’nt specifically for the loo but to have a snack and drink at Interval time.I vaguely remember that eventhough I was very small.
    I use to go to the cinema very often when I was a child as my mother wanted me,or rather forced me to chaperone(spy on!LOL) my older sister and her BF when they went to the Palace and Roxy cinemas.Even to the Bowling Alley next to St.Patrick’s school!Good grief was my mother paranoid.We all laugh about it now.

  14. 14 Victor Koo Tuesday, December 30, 2008 at 1:34 am

    LKK, I haven’t seen a new post in more than 2 weeks. Having a “pass-out”? :p

    Wishing everyone a Happy New Year.

  15. 15 Andy Young Tuesday, December 22, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Hi Sir,
    Been reading your blog for a while with Victor and Peter at my side but never really commenting. This posting freaks me out because I remember going to see, “Sing Boy Sing” (Tommy Sands) at the Alhambra and receiving one of these passes when the tide was a little high and I had to pass out.

    Glad to know you’re doing so well with your blog and winning a prize for it.

    Cheers,
    Andy

  16. 16 Andy Young Tuesday, December 22, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Oh I forgot. This was in the late 50s. Maybe I’m wrong huh? Pass-out? Hmm. Surely…

  17. 17 laokokok Tuesday, December 22, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Thank you Andy and wonder why is Victor and Peter by your side??? Friends??

  18. 18 Surveillance in Minneapolis Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 3:25 am

    I don’t even know the way I finished up right here, but I thought this put up was good. I don’t realize who you’re however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you happen
    to are not already. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,148,882 hits
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

