Guess What Quiz No.2

I’ve not seen this for a very long time. Though it is still available now, but it was commonly used in the 60s or maybe still in the 70s. Do you know what is this for? What’s inside? I think Peter, Philip or Chun See may know the answer.

Answer;

Yes, it’s a Shaving Kit. You can see the contents inside:

Here is the Razor Blade;

In fact such shaving kit is very good for travelling. It even has a small mirror inside. Like what the guys have said, the blade is really super sharp!

Additional Photos;

Photo 1:

 

 

Photo 2 :

Photo 3 :

 

19 Responses to “Guess What Quiz No.2”


  1. 1 profkingsfield2004 Tuesday, August 25, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Disposable razaor blade and razor handle ?

  2. 2 AK Tuesday, August 25, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Yup, those razor blades and the top + handle. I think still can find it around.
    I was looking for it actually.

    these are much better than the current blades and cheaper too.

  3. 3 Victor Koo Tuesday, August 25, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Not just Peter, Philip or Chun See. I also know. Except that the razor was meant to be used many times over. The razor was black in colour and had both silver edges sharp, i.e. it cuts both ways. It was like having 2 razors in one blade – quite an ingenious design. Not “disposable” in the sense of “used once throw away”. In the olden days, this practice would have been considered too extravagant.

  4. 4 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, August 26, 2009 at 4:08 am

    I meant the blades use a couple of times before considered too blunt for shaving, then throw away. The spare blads came in a kind of waxy paper wrapping. Blade also flexible metal and can bend sideways.

    The danger with this kind of blade was that it was too sharp and if you never shave for a number of days, shaving can be quite painful as each stroke pulls out the long hair. I had this problem and placed at the wrong angle on the skin can sometimes cut the skin. I suffered from this problem on my moustache. In order to overcome problem, you can not use ordinary soap to make the foam. You had to buy ???(I can’t remember the foam or how was it packed but certainly not those cannister type)

    The razor handle was silver in color and has a turning know at the bottom of the handle. Turn the knob, the cover at the top opens for you to insert the blade.

    Then this kind of shaver was replaced by Ronson electric shave. This one very safe for shaving.

  5. 5 laokokok Wednesday, August 26, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Is our population here in this blog already aged? Or this is really a ‘chicken feeeeeet’ quiz….ok you guys are correct.

  6. 6 Dan Wednesday, August 26, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Hi!

    Out of curiosity, I called up my dad to enquire about his shaving kit. Surprising, he is still using this type of razor. He buys the razor blades from the nearby provision shop. Btw, he is 82 years old and I guess, he feels more comfortable using this type of razor.

    Cheers,

  7. 7 Lam Chun See Wednesday, August 26, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Yes I remember this type of blade. And yes I have been cut by it a few times; esp in younger days when still have a lot of pimples.

    I think the blade is positioned onto a base, then you place another piece to sandwich the blade. After that you screw on the handle and the blade will bend slightly.

    I remember the brand of razor blades has a crocodile logo and wrapping is purple in colour.

  8. 8 profkingsfield2004 Wednesday, August 26, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    No lah Chun See.

    You turn a knob at the base of the handle and then at the top, the 2 covers open saseme. Then you place your metal blade on it and then turn the screw and the 2 covers close. That way the blades don’t move but in locked position.

    This kind of blade very poor going over curve skin surface.
    wah u got pimples…..chun see? Do you know how to cure pimples. Take foo kwa and chop into bits. Use cotton bud and scoop some of the fiber and juice and apply on the pimple area. Apply a few times but don’t rub hard. After a few applications, use 2 fingers and gently squeeze. POP the pimple pus including the pimple-head come off very easily. This is betetr way than to use Clearasil. Using cream blocks the imple opening and turns it into acne with a red swollen base.

  9. 9 laokokok Thursday, August 27, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Peter you mean use bitter gourd juice?

  10. 10 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, August 27, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    yes laokokok

  11. 11 Lam Chun See Friday, August 28, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Peter you are wrong. The base has a stump sticking up in the middle. When you place the blade over it, the blade fits nicely and will not shift position.

    LKK, why don’t you add another photo or 2 showing the different sections of this contraption.

  12. 12 Philip Chew Saturday, August 29, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Dan, it is very hard for an elderly person to change his habit even though the present shaver or disposable shaver is so easy to use.

  13. 13 laokokok Monday, August 31, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Chun See, I think there are different variation to this kind of shaving kit. What Peter mentioned was the more complicated type and it was slightly heavier than what I’ve shown. I believed that was previously used by my late godfather too.

    I’ve uploaded 3 more photos in the post to shown how the blade can be inserted in. Just place it in place on the metal plate with the stud so that it is locked in place. Then place the other metal plate over it and turn the handle to lock it. Simple.

  14. 14 profkingsfield2004 Monday, August 31, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Laokokok

    I have seen also the type you just put up in the new photo. Apparently this model is quite “laychay” because you need to fit 2 covers. The model I mentioned is the like a swing-door where both sides openand u insert the blade. I guess the latter model is more expensive. However both models use the metal blads you show.

    Was there a special foam to go with this kind of shaver? I made the foam by using little bit of water and rubbing the LUX soap on my chin and moustache area.

  15. 15 profkingsfield2004 Monday, August 31, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Laokokok
    Fu Kwa = bitter gouard. I don’t knwo the scientific reason behind it but someone told me it got anti-bacterial properties. One time I got this big acne which was on my back for many years. I went to Shenton medical and they recommended surgery. After surgery, the dam pimple ebcame acne again until I tried fu kwa method. Now problem solved.

  16. 16 laokokok Monday, August 31, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Should have known this Fu Kwa method earlier.

  17. 17 Lam Chun See Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Conclusion. Peter used the expensive higher class type.

  18. 18 Http://Confidentshooter.Com/Good-Dog-Bad-Dog-The-Basics-Of-Training/ Wednesday, May 1, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding
    It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to present
    one thing again and help others such as you helped me.

  19. 19 פוליש Wednesday, October 30, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Interesting section of information. I just became aware of your website plus in accession capital to talk about i receive essentially beloved profile your site discussions. Regardless I shall be opting-in on the for and even I personally completion you will get the ways to access constantly swiftly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,162,649 hits
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

