Batman Mask Unveiled At S’pore Blog Awards 2009

(The Final Part Of Non-Nostalgia Article)

Frankly until now I still couldn’t believe that I could win the award in the Best Individual Blog category. I’m expecting Beru Betto (the woman who blog about art and craft) to win as I enjoyed reading her blog too. So I’ve been thinking why the judges choose me since that evening.

The wait for about 4 over months for the results is really ‘killing’ but when I received the invite to attend the Blog Awards ceremony at Supper Club, I hesitated. When I read about the ‘bedroom theme’ for the evening, it further add on to my hesitation to attend. Luckily casual smart was also allowed, otherwise… Told my wife Ms Lao Po about the invitation and she said without hesitation, why not? Then I think since both of us have not been out on a date (minus the kids) for 15 years, it’s also time to do so.

The night before the event, I couldn’t sleep well thinking what if I attend and they will know my identity (at least the organiser will know, even if I don’t win). Anyway the chances of me wining is not high, I thought to myself. I attended without my batman mask.

Once we stepped into the Supper Club, the organiser and the reporters seem to recognise or be able to spot me easily calling out if I’m Laokokok (calling my real name of course). I’m wondering am I the oldest there among the bloggers? But I thought I’m the second oldest blogger…or is it because of my white hair…

The reporters were interviewing me and had my photos taken even before the results were annouced. I felt rather embarassed and quite awkward as it is like everyone seems to be smiling at me. Am I a ‘senior citizen’ among them?

Finally results time and when they first shown my blog using the overhead projector and announced that I was the winner for the Individual Blog category, the crowd cheered and applaused loudly. Then when it was my turn to receive the award from Minister George Yeo, again the crowd cheered and applaused loudly. I’m wondering why? Is it because of my identity unveiled and they finally found out my true identity without my batman mask?

Even the Straits Times reported; “When he went on stage to receive his trophy, he received the loudest applause from the crowd, including a standing ovation from people of his generation, such as SPH’s chief executive Alan Chan and Cultural Medallion winner artist Tan Swie Hian.”

So why the judges picked me as the winner, I thought to myself. First probably the judges wanted to unveil my batman mask hehe.
As Victor had said, “Win Some Lose Some too” – I lose my identity. Second, maybe what I’ve posted in my blog are what the older judges can relate to. So what do you think?

Now most said I can throw away my batman mask…Wei Chong (friends from yesterday.sg) even came to me during the event and said “now we know who you are”. So do you think I really have my identity unveiled after all these exposure in the media? I strongly believe that you will not remember my face after a while haha.

Here is the video of me receiving the trophy with my mask on hehe;

For those who have seen me, pls erase me off your memory. Thank you.

About the Award Here.

21 Responses to “Batman Mask Unveiled At S’pore Blog Awards 2009”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Monday, September 21, 2009 at 12:18 am

    You didn’t lose your identity. In fact, I think you gained it back. Can’t say the same for your previous anonymity though.

  2. 2 Jimmy Quek Monday, September 21, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I came to know about your winning of blog award from the Straits Time webpage and I visited your blog, I enjoyed your blog very much, as it brings back old memories. Your blog is wonderfu!

  3. 3 Jun Wong Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    It about time to unveil the mask of the hero who is behind this wonderful blog. And to be given well deserved recognition.

    Yes, I agree. The theme and stuff in this blog do bring up sentimental memories for people live in singapore. Also revealed things that maybe unknown to many. So please do keep it up 🙂

  4. 4 Victor Koo Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Try as I might, I can’t seem to be able to erase your image from my memory. Next time when I meet you at my son’s school, I will call out “Laokokok!”

  5. 5 Andy Young Wednesday, September 23, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Congratulations sir! You deserve the win with the amount of work, interest and passion you put into it. Perhaps you could share with us your experiences when you post and how you make this blog so popular.

    Cheers.

  6. 7 laokokok Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Hi Victor, we will have up to 1 more year to meet up at your son’s school. Time really flies!

  7. 8 laokokok Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Thanks Andy. I guess it’s because most of the things, events, etc..are something that ppl can relate to when they were young. Since I’m no good with words, I put more photos and pictures in my posts, and that probably makes reading easier.

  8. 9 laokokok Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Thanks Jimmy and Lynn for the compliments.

  9. 10 laokokok Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Thanks Jun. I’ll keep blogging.

  10. 11 justin Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Heard about your blog from the Awards, congratulations!
    Really like what you’re doing here!
    National Archives should let you have an honorary membership so you can post their images without the watermarks 🙂

  11. 12 Tisu Girl Saturday, September 26, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Laokokok! You are so cute, wear the batman mask here but your link at Beru Betto lead us again to your face….hahah…. 🙂

  12. 13 sgbluechip Monday, September 28, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Hi, sorry a bit off topic here. Could you send me an email to sgbluechip@gmail.com? I have an advertising company willing to place an advert on your blog. Fees will be paid upfront. Do let me know if you are keen.
    Do indicate your blog address when you email me. Thank you!

  13. 14 laokokok Wednesday, September 30, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Thanks Justin. Think National Archives do allow the watermarks removal if one will to seek their approval. Hehe, just that I’m too lazy to do so..

  14. 15 laokokok Wednesday, September 30, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Oh no! You mean she still have yet to put on my Batman mask for me???

  15. 16 Travelerfolio (Eunice) Friday, October 30, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Congratulation!!! I shld have attended this event too! Looks interesting! 😀

    Hey love your posts! Recollecting fond memories of the past. Keep blogging!

  16. 17 laokokok Friday, November 6, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Thanks Eunice. Glad you like my posts.

  17. 18 Ilat Dooyan Wednesday, March 30, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Yo, I have a quick question for you. May I put a couple of quotes from your blog in my report? I will give you proper credit, I promise.

  18. 20 london serviced apartments chelsea Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    When you rent a corporate apartment in Melbourne, you are assured of the best service.
    Today, the city is making a concerted effort to position itself as a global energy hub with the Energetica project, a
    750m energy and technology scheme which is predicted to generate
    an estimated 500m annually. t simply an attraction to the numerous business and shopping facilities available.
    It is definitely recommended that you go down this route,
    and if you keep reading you will discover the
    reasons why….


  1. 1 Assorted Blog Entries on Singapore Blog Awards ceremony - Part 2 | 新加坡部落格大奖 II Trackback on Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 12:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,166,463 hits
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

