Bye Bye To Hollywood Theatre And Lion City Hotel Part 1

What’s the link between Hollywood Theatre and Lion City Hotel? Well they are both owned by the late property magnate Mr.Wee Thiam Siew. Mr.Wee Thiam Siew also owned the not too long demolished Seven Storey Hotel. The Seven Storey Hotel was built in 1953, followed by Hollywood Theatre in 1957. The Hollywood Theatre was opened by the cinema magnate late Mr.Loke Wan Tho in 1958.

I’ll blog on Hollywood Theatre in Part 1 and Lion City Hotel in Part 2.

I remember whenever I drove past the Thiam Siew Ave, my mother would point to me the corner house nearer to Haig Road and said “See, that was the Hollywood Theatre boss’ house”. At that time, I thought that it must be some rumours from the wet market aunties spread to her; but when I’m researching for this topic, I think it might be true. Just a few streets away from the Hollywood Theatre and Lion City Hotel, along the Haig Road, you can find Thiam Siew Avenue. It was named after Mr.Wee Thiam Siew in 1939. It was originally known as Thiam Siew Road. In 1940, he proposed to the Municipal Commissoner to have it renamed as an Avenue so that the properties value will increased. Probably I’ll blog on Mr.Wee Thiam Siew in the near future.

The opening of Hollywood Theatre in 1958;

Hollywood Theatre in 1958;

Above 2 credits : PICAS, National Archives of Singapore

And how it looks like now in 2011;

Of course you cannot find the name Hollywood Theatre on the building itself anymore as it is now Sheng Siong Supermarket. Surprisingly the only place where you can find the full name “Hollywood Theatre” is at the fence of the power generator besides the theatre, in the Lion City Hotel carpark just in front of the KFC;

When I was still in the army, I would like to watch a movie (mainly Mandarin shows) in this Hollywood Theatre as it was cheaper with my 11B (soldier’s identity card).  Of course at times there were rats running across the feet while watching the show. And if it’s a night show, there were some food and drink stalls in front of the theatre in its early years. With the introduction of multiplex and the increased in movie ticket price, this theatre screened its last show in end of June 1995. You will be surprised to know that this typical Chinese theatre last movie was a French show “Le Parfum d’Yvonne”.

Hollywood Theatre in 1994, just a year before its last show;

Credit : PICAS, National Archives of Singapore

Same view in 2011;

A rather deserted theatre, as view from the overhead bridge in 1994;

Credit : PICAS, National Archives of Singapore

After 17 years (2011), the 2 trees in front of the theatre have grown much bigger;

I’ve not seen the escalator moving so far. The overhead bridge linking City Plaza to the front of Hollywood Theatre;

The carpark entrance, turning right after entry to the theatre; turning left to the Lion City Hotel;

There are more parking spaces at the side of the theatre. On the left is the previous Yock Eng High School, now become CDAC;

The Hollywood Theatre almost turned into a multiplex if not for a fail negotiation between the owner and Eng Wah Organisation for a longer lease. At that time, the owner was only willing to lease it out on a 2 to 3 years basis, thus in 1995, the City Harvest Churh settled down at this venue;

Credit : City-News

The old theatre stage still remained. Many of the new multiplex cinemas are without such stage;

Credit : Quiet Confidence, Em

It was said that Siew Fung Fung and Fong Bo Bo once performed here on this stage during its heyday. Even when it was being used as a supermarket, they still retained the stage. Somehow, the City Harvest Church ended her lease in 2001 and Sheng Siong Supermarket took over from then till now 31 Aug 2011;

Besides the Hin Hollywood Canteen, construction already going on, think it’s for a substation by SP Powerassets;

The back of the theatre facing the Hin Hollywood Canteen;

The carpark exit booth (behind the white car). Very troublesome, have to wait for your change. In the past, this was 2-way (out/in);

Behind the theatre is the Hin Hollywood canteen that I called Hollywood coffee shop;

There are already many bloggers blogging on this coffee shop, so I will not elaborate on this eatery. Frankly having stay here for so many years, I don’t find the food here fantastic. Somehow after the Mediacorps showed the documentary on this coffee shop, many people flocked to it before it was demolished;

Before I end the Part 1, below is the excerpt from the Mediacorps documentary on the Hin Hollywood Canteen;

Credits : Mediacorps, PICAS, National Archives of Singapore

I’ll blog on the Lion City Hotel in Part 2.

What my father wrote;
 
“Hope for the best, but prepare for the worst.”

31 Responses to “Bye Bye To Hollywood Theatre And Lion City Hotel Part 1”


  1. 1 KL Wednesday, September 21, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    The 35mm projector used in Hollywood Theatre was donated to the National Museum of Singapore. It is inside the Wayang Gallery and attracted many visitors.

  2. 2 Icemoon Thursday, September 22, 2011 at 12:21 am

    Thanks for the informative article. We had to wait and it was worth it. 🙂

  3. 5 TTY Sunday, September 25, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Thank you for this posting. It brings back very fond memory. I watched my very first midnight show here with my late grandmother.

  4. 6 Francis Lai Sunday, September 25, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    I remember watching at least one movie at the Hollywood cinema around 1971 with my army mates. We were doing full time NS at Seletar East Camp then, and after our trainings were so eager to book out after 5pm. I couldn’t recall vividly, but I think it was a Mandarin movie starring actress Jenny Hu. This is my only memory of the Hollywood cinema !

  5. 7 Rush Bijoux Tuesday, October 4, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Great blog! I mean, thanks man. I live in the vicinity and was wondering of the buildings’ history (both lion city hotel and the theatre). Never expected them to be so rich of history. Such a great read, a highlight of my day. I love tracing back the old times 🙂

  6. 8 Ray Thursday, October 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    A wonderful blog of the area. I remember going there for the many movies and foods, when I was a little boy staying in that area. Even visited the house of Mr Wee during my teenage years. Thanks for sharing. Great memories indeed!

  7. 9 anthony wee Thursday, November 3, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Thats my grandfathers =)

  8. 10 Lam Chun See Sunday, December 4, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Sad that another part of our childhood memories gone. I seldom go to Hollywood becos quite far from my house, but I remember 2 movies that I saw there. Liu San Jie 刘三姐 and 爱的天地 starring Judy Ong.

  9. 11 Old Lim Tuesday, December 20, 2011 at 2:02 am

    I remember I went with my parents to watch 陈宝珠’s 娘惹之恋, it was such an event because not only her, but 梁醒波,吕奇, 薛家燕 all performed on stage 真人登台表演。 Still can remember 梁醒波 in a sketch homouressly dated an actress (I can’t recall who was she) to go to Hollywood threatre for movie. After many years, I read from a gossip magazine that 吕奇 took away 陈宝珠’s virgin that night. Ah, the past was like a movie itself !

  10. 12 Shirley Fong Saturday, February 11, 2012 at 3:53 am

    u related to wee thiam siew?

  11. 13 anthony wee Monday, February 27, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Yes! He’s my grandfather lol

  12. 14 Josip Habjanović Wednesday, August 29, 2012 at 5:13 am

    I was a guest in “Lion City ” Hotel during the first part of september of 2007.together with my son.We can give only the highest compliments to all of the stuff,as well to the City and State of Singapore.We are sorry that the Hotel exist no more.Good luck and everything best to all by guests from Croatia,Europe!

  13. 15 Amelia Wednesday, November 14, 2012 at 1:00 am

    Happy to see this write up about my family history :)) thank u!

  14. 17 Yeo Hong Eng Saturday, March 16, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Thanks for all the information.
    I have very fond memories of the Happy Restaurant.

  15. 18 www.jamaicadatamine.com Thursday, April 25, 2013 at 10:13 am

    This is the right website for anyone who hopes to find
    out about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic which has been written about for many years.

    Excellent stuff, just great!

  16. 19 Elden Tuesday, August 20, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody?
    This post posted at this web site is truly
    nice.

  17. 20 flood damage dublin Thursday, September 4, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    If they have experience and knowledge then get the job done right.
    Michigan residents experience many natural disasters from
    elements outside of their control. This article has been flagged as spam, if you think this
    is an error please contact us.

  18. 21 whale watching tours los angeles Sunday, September 7, 2014 at 10:03 am

    I used to be recommended this web site by way off my cousin. I amm now not sure wether this submit is
    wriitten by means of him as no one else realize such particular about my
    difficulty. You are amazing! Thank you!

  19. 22 7 Day Vegetarian meal plan Sunday, July 19, 2015 at 12:24 am

    I wwas exdited to discover this site. I want to to thank you
    for your ime due to this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every little bit of it and I have you book marked to look at new information on your web site.

  20. 24 cheap funerals stockton Sunday, November 11, 2018 at 9:35 am

    This is the right web site for anybody who hopes to find out about this topic.
    You understand so much its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been written about for many years.
    Great stuff, just excellent!


  1. 1 green coffee bean extract maxx Trackback on Sunday, July 20, 2014 at 5:36 pm
  2. 2 buy bitcoin With paypal or credit card Trackback on Friday, February 13, 2015 at 6:39 am
  3. 3 Karl Jobst Trackback on Friday, March 6, 2015 at 1:54 pm
  4. 4 buy black line elite Trackback on Thursday, March 26, 2015 at 11:21 am
  5. 5 pet carriers Trackback on Friday, July 3, 2015 at 7:23 pm
  6. 6 Elegant Trackback on Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 9:53 am
  7. 7 body damage Trackback on Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 10:26 am

Leave a comment




Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,327,242 hits
September 2011
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930