Is There A Sentosa Primary School?

Credit : Singapore Science Centre

Anyone recall whether there is a Sentosa Primary School? Or is there anyone here from that school before? I was surprised when I read about such a school in an old magazine.

The above article on Singapore Maritime Museum in the Science Centre Bulletin (1976 issue) stated that there was a Sentosa Primary School in Sentosa itself. The Sentosa Primary School was temporary used to house the gallery for the Singapore Maritime Museum.

Let me check my old street directory (1976 edition). Below showed that there was such a school called Sentosa Primary School;

but the actual location of the school, I’m not too sure;

Credit : Chief Surveyor, Survey Dept, Ministry of Law.

Sad to say both the school and the Singapore Maritime Museum were no longer around. This Maritime Museum was set up by the Port of Singapore Authority (PSA). The opening of the Maritime Museum by the PSA at Sentosa in 1975 gave visitors a glimpse of the port’s history.

I’ve been to this Maritime Museum at Sentosa before but somehow the exhibits did not interest me at that time so I don’t think I’ve any photos taken except those found on the net;

Maybe some will remember this iconic signal mast;

Credit : TNP

The signal mast was moved to Singapore Maritime Museum in Sentosa when the area around Albert Dock was developed into a container terminal in 1972. The mast stood there for 26 years until the Maritime Museum closed in 2001 due to poor attendance.  You may read more about the historic mast here.

Let’s hope the new maritime museum at Resorts World will be a success. Below is the model of the new maritime museum;


32 Responses to “Is There A Sentosa Primary School?”


  1. 1 Dan Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Hi!

    “The 10 year old school will soon be demolised to make way for the construction of a maritime museum, the first in South-east Asia.” … quote The Straits Times 14 July 1974.

    I obtained this info from the digitised version via The National Library Board’s website. For the full extract, you have to visit the Library and view the microfilm.

    Cheers.

  2. 2 yg Wednesday, July 22, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    lkk, my 1969 directory shows that there were two schools on pulau blakang mati (old name for sentosa). one was at the end of jetty road and the other was the same as the one in your 1976 directory. i cannot find the name ‘sentosa primary school’ in my directory but there is a ‘blakang mati primary school (integrated)’. the other school on the island was sin hwa school, a chinese primary school.

  3. 3 laokokok Thursday, July 23, 2009 at 7:32 am

    That’s great info Dan, thanks.

    YG, I guess ‘Blakang Mati Pri Sch’ is that Sentosa Pri Sch. Didn’t know there’s another sch there.

  4. 4 Ghazali Monday, November 23, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Yes there was no such name as Sentosa Pri Sch. The actual name where Maritime Museum situated was known as Blakang Mati Intergrated Primary School. I graduated there in the year 1972 for 6 years. In fact I was brought up there.

  5. 5 laokokok Monday, November 30, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Thanks for the info Ghazali. So it’s formally known as Blakang Mati Integrated Primary School! Wonder why the street directory listed it as Sentosa Primary School?

  6. 6 rosli bin hairuman Wednesday, February 3, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Pernah tak engkau pergi sekolah dgn rosli, anak british armi dari pulau brani jalan depan pokok mangga depan berek gurkha?

  7. 7 laokokok Thursday, February 4, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Hi Rosli,
    Sorry I don’t read Malay language, can you post it in English? Thank you.

  8. 8 Azizah Wednesday, March 10, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Actually the school building housed Sekolah Melayu Telok Blangah (Malay School) and Blakang Mati Primary School. After 1-2 years schooling there they decided to change the name Blakang Mati (literally translated from malay – Dead Behind) to Sentosa (meaning Peace/serene). After 3 years there I transferred to another school when we shifted to Clementi.

  9. 9 laokokok Monday, March 15, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Thanks Azizah for the infos.

  10. 10 Yeo TK Sunday, July 3, 2011 at 6:29 am

    The school is Blakang Mati (Integrated) Primary School when the island is still named Pulau Blakang Mati. It was changed to Sentosa Primary School, when the Island was named Sentosa. I attended 6 years of primary school there.

    Yeo

  11. 11 Zainuri Sunday, September 11, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Hi ppl…Yes Sentosa Primary Sch was actually Blakang Mati Intergrated Pri Sch. I studied there and lived there when my dad was a navy officer attached to Maritime Command at the island.

  12. 12 zahrn Saturday, June 23, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    it is true,my mom was living at sentosa and her school was sentosa primary

  13. 13 Ibnkhair Tuesday, July 31, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Anybody remembers Wak Amir?…he stayed at Pulau Blakang Mati and he was a Generator Man in Engine Room at Pulau Brani…What about Wak Mastor…he worked there as well…1960’s…

  14. 14 Geoff Bickley Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 10:18 am

    I remember being at school on Blakang Mati the 1950’s, I recall it being staffed by the British Army at the time. My father was a Sgt with the 1st Singagapore Regt R.A. We returned to the UK after my father’s 3 year posting.

  15. 15 tahir bin haji adam Saturday, September 29, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    tahir adam
    I am staying in pulau brani but went to school in blakang mati in 1967.it the only english school nearer to pulau brani.

  16. 16 rosli Saturday, October 6, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Tahir,

    apa nama nenek yang ajar mengaji kat rumah atas air tu, dekat jetty tu…nek putih ke nama dia…aku ngaji situ dulu…

    kakak yang ajar tuition depan padang bola tu, kak galo ke nama dia…depan rumah dia ada pokok kemboja putih…ingat lagi ke ko tempat tu…

  17. 17 Mohd. Muda Wednesday, January 9, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Only memories are left, I am from that former primary school. Still manage to contact some friends from that era:)

  18. 18 Mohd. Muda Wednesday, January 9, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Tahir, same time with me, Mohd.Muda here.

  19. 19 Mohd. Muda Wednesday, January 9, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Geoff, my father was with the British Army at Pulau Brani till 70’s when they move out from Spore.

  20. 20 Albert Daniel Monday, April 8, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    Hi, my name is Albert Daniel, people fondly call me Tambi or Anak Denal. I studied in Silat Primary (I) Red in 1966. After getting beaten up by a gang for fighting with a School bully, my dad who worked with PWD moved me to Blakang Mati Primary Integrated School. The school was later renamed Sentosa Primary School when the name of the Island was changed to Sentosa to attract tourism an initiative by our Minister Goh Keng Swee. Albert

  21. 21 Malcolm Young Thursday, July 11, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    I vaguely remember visiting this Maritime Museum on Sentosa in the late 1990’s (or perhaps it was around 2000-01 – in which case it would have been just before it closed. I remember how empty and deserted the place was. Also, correct me if I’m wrong, but an old lighthouse lens (I beleive it was the former Fullerton lighthouse) was on display at this Museum.

  22. 22 Chew Kang Wei Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Hi, I am looking for people who have studied in the primary school during the period of 1965 to 1974. I am conducting an interview to contribute a page of it to the e-book for SG50. It will be part of a gift to Singapore from the school. Please email me at chewkangwei@nv.edu.sg. I will contact you soon. Much thanks!!

  23. 23 Muda Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    The maritime muzeum was formerly Sentosa pri sch, before that it’s Blakang Mati intergrated pri sch. I am from that era.

  24. 24 Chew Kang Wei Tuesday, August 19, 2014 at 10:11 am

    Hi Muda, Can i check which period are you studying in the primary school? Are you able to share with me any photos taken in the past? Do let me know.

  25. 25 Lynne Copping (Wilson) Friday, October 23, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    I lived on Pulau Brani as an army child and went to the school on Blakang Mati until it moved to Pulau Brani about 1959.

  26. 26 Lynne Copping Wednesday, July 27, 2016 at 9:01 pm

    Do you have an email address? We have a Singapore schools reunion group.

  27. 27 Mohd.Muda Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 10:46 pm

    Same as me, dad with British navy, i study at blakang mati and stay at pulau brani, to n fro using british navy ferry.

  28. 28 Ian Monday, October 15, 2018 at 3:30 pm

    Attention Geoff Bickley.
    My Dad was a Sgt to, we were there from 1950/52 so I was at that school with you. Do you remember Rodger Ellis, those old days were fantastic,

    Regards, Ian

  29. 29 Lynne Copping Wednesday, October 17, 2018 at 12:39 am

    Attention Geoff Bickley, I have a copy of the Blakang Mati British army school register (from the UK National Army Museum archives) and it shows that you started at the school on 17th January 1955 and you left to go to Singapore (sadly it doesn’t show the date, though most of the other entries do). Another pupil that started at the same time as you was Hilary Brookes, who I am in touch with, and she is on our Blakang Mati school Facebook group and also on our singapore schools mailing list at singaporeschool.reunion@gmail.com (we are going back to Singapore on 30th October 2018 for a school reunion). Theresa Ayling, Jamie Banks, John Lloyd, Peter Marshall, Lois Wynn-Werninck , Howard Cross, Sally Richards and very many more. Our Facebook group has many photos or I can email them to you if you get in touch.

  30. 30 RAJENDRA CHHETRI Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 10:32 am

    I FULLY ENJOYED COMMENTS FROM MANY WHO HAD BEEN TO LOCAL SCHOOLS AS MENTIONED.. GURKHAS MOVED TO BLAKANG MATI IN 1960 and my Brother-in-law was stationed there from 1962. I lived in the Army Married Quarter. I MOVED There from 1963. By then the only British Army School Children was in Pulau Brani. There was a bigger school Secondary Modern in ? Gilman Barracks. and also a Grammar school.. Later replaced by St John’s school around/near Slim Barracks

  31. 31 Lee Jia Ying Thursday, June 20, 2019 at 8:52 pm

    hello, may i know how did you get the 1976 street directory? i’m doing a final year project on old schools. would really appreciate your reply. thank you so much! 🙂

  32. 32 Malcolm Young Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 9:04 am

    I purchased an old 1970’s edition Street Directory from a second hand bookstore in Singapore around 15 years ago. The book store was on a 2nd floor of a reasonably modern shopping centre, somewhere near Chinatown. I think the shopping centre was Central Mall. Not sure if the book store I still there. If not, I would try one of the other secondhand book stores in Singapore – you can google and find several.


Leave a comment




Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,327,231 hits
July 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031