My Casio Calculator Invader Game

My first electronic handheld game was most probably the Casio Calculator ‘Space Invader’ game, or more correctly – ‘Number Invader’ game. It was actually modeled after the late 70s popular Space Invader game.

I don’t really remember the model of that Casio calculator, but a Google search shows me the model MG-880. Wonder if it was the same calculator… Anyway it looks alike;

The player have to press the correct number on the extreme left to match any of the number on the right that keeps coming out randomly, so as to kill ‘it’. The 3 horizontal short lines on the right of the extreme left number indicates the number of lives you have remaining. The ‘n’ is what makes me remember the game most!

Here is the closeup of the screen;

So when was this calculator game in fashion? It should be in the early 80s, during my Poly time. Now where have I dumped this calculator???

For those that wish to try out this ‘Number Invader’ game, here it is;

DigiInvaders

The instructions are here.

33 Responses to “My Casio Calculator Invader Game”


  1. 1 profkingsfield2004 Thursday, November 1, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    My first game was on this Amiga computer in 1979. It was Chomp Chomp. I played during office hours. Got so addicted until can skip lunch.

  2. 2 daddyto3 Thursday, November 1, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Another excellent post which stirred up wonderful memories for me as a kid. I used to spend hours on end on this thing! And I must say that I was quite good at it. This was my version of Xbox360 in my day… 🙂 Thanks for this wonderful post, Mr Lau!!

  3. 3 laokokok Friday, November 2, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Hi Peter, do you mean PacMan? Don’t quite remember Chomp Chomp is the same as PacMan.

    Hi Daddyto3, so do you still keep that calculator? I think I lost mine.

  4. 4 profkingsfield2004 Saturday, November 3, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    yes game = Pacman. The one was = pinball

  5. 5 Gerard Thursday, November 8, 2007 at 7:01 am

    Hi. I find your blog interesting as I’m able to connect to the articles you have in your blog. I remembered playing the Casio calculator games. It was the craze at that time. Cheerio

  6. 6 laokokok Friday, November 9, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Hi Gerard, welcome here. Hope you enjoy the blog here as much as you enjoyed the game.

  7. 7 Julez Wednesday, November 28, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    I actually bought that calculator on ebay a couple of years ago. (just for nostalgic reasons)

    All the boys had them at school in 1980…..and us girls used to chat up the boys after school just so they would lend us their calculators for the night….lol

    Ahhh, memories……..

  8. 8 Idetrorce Saturday, December 15, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  9. 10 RD Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Awesome!!Thanks so much for posting that!!! That’s briliant.

  10. 12 tutu Friday, December 12, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I found this new casio project that I thought you’d dig.

    A short Holiday freakshow of electronics. These guys are bent!

    http://www.vimeo.com/2344860

    http://www.kasiokristmas.com

  11. 13 Irene Saturday, December 11, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    This was my very first “computer” game!!!
    I used to spend hours playing it when I was in JC.
    Once I played for 4 straight hours and busted the highest of high scores – my score filled the screen with 9s…
    memories… thanks for writing this entry.

  12. 14 Bundu Monday, January 10, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I remember this game, Casio later released it on it’s calculator wrist watch aaah what nostalgia. My favourite game though was Football Manager on Commodore 64, used to load via tape and it took about 5 hours to load, can you believe that Football Manager is running till today

  13. 15 Pizza Games Monday, January 31, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    I greatly enjoyed looking through your blog and found an informative one for games related topics.

  14. 16 Howard Hilliard Monday, April 11, 2011 at 1:07 am

    Thanks for the infomation. Here is a link to a site that might help you further.

    http://crash.ihug.co.nz/~pinwhiz/cascalc.htm

  15. 17 padams Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 8:22 am

    I loved that game, that was the best out of the 3 that i knew about…lol….everytime i go to a garage sale or second hand shop, i always hope id find one there…no luck so far..been looking 20yrs…lol

  16. 18 Rayray Sunday, July 17, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I used to love this game and I totally mastered it!! What a blast from the past!!

  17. 19 jacques Saturday, September 10, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    where can I get this?

  18. 20 Andy Friday, October 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Greetings,

    Any chance you can send me (or direct me) to the working links/apps for this game. I’m up at 2am and suddenly remembered this amazing game I used to play on my Casio calculator watch. Thx much, Andy.

  19. 21 flyingeagle Sunday, December 4, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    haha.. i found the game.

    http://www.widgetbox.com/widget/digi-invaders-casio-mg-880-game

    keyboard left arrow → [AIM]
    key board right arrow ← [FIRE]

  20. 22 vineyard Monday, April 15, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    The cute streets, named after wines Chardonnay, Cabernet, etc.

    , were lined by antique, turn of the piazzas can take a half a
    day or more to fully explore. They can be triggered due to Cabernet Sauvignon, Chianti, and Merlot 17 ;
    in 1999 Cabernet Sauvignon Grapes: 85 Cabernet, 15 Merlot Region: Paso Robles dry ros wine.

    Of Ward Cleaver for conservative good measure.

  21. 23 red Friday, May 24, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Fresh strawberries for dessert rendered our New Zealand with its Sauvignon Blanc.
    The demand of must need item in time of relaxation. While buying online, you can know easily.
    But believe me, not a single need to range from $354 to $1,595 providing
    great value for income.

  22. 24 www.relationshipadvicesite.com Monday, June 3, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Don’t believe that eliminating processed food and grains from your diet, and weight loss, 10 – 15 lbs in a week Mostlymuscle tissue and water. So the bottom line is, dieting news makes people fat. You can do these spins whenever you want and fit it into your daily eating plan or to know when to stop. It is known to be relatively free from allergies, according to researcher Brian Wansink, PhD, says visual cues can trick us into consuming more or less stable.

  23. 25 Ofelia Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    – They must train hard but not too hard to make
    the muscles become overstrained;. Thiis old technique might have a trendy name oof “German volume technique;” but this has been popular
    method of muscular development for quite some time. They do what works for them, but those
    same techniques will absolutely not work for you.

  24. 26 lost weight in singapore Wednesday, August 20, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I find this topic to be actually something
    which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very large for me.

    I’m taking a look forward on your subsequent publish, I will attempt to get the hang of it!

  25. 27 mold removal Austin Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    There’s the oar to the left, which is in the corner.
    You will need to mix a cup of it in a gallon of water and then scrub
    the affected area two or three times until all the traces
    of mold have been removed. Mold can be cleanup up if done properly, but if done improperly you can make the damage worse.

  26. 28 For Android Friday, October 17, 2014 at 3:59 am

    Truly when someone doesn’t be aware of after that itss up to other people that thry will help, so here iit occurs.

  27. 29 Charline Monday, September 12, 2016 at 2:09 am

    I’ve read a few excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how a lot attempt you place to create one of these wonderful informative site.

  28. 31 retete traditionale Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 6:20 pm

    It’s awesome for me to have a website, which is beneficial in favor of my know-how.

    thanks admin


  1. 1 msci singapore real estate index Trackback on Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 2:56 pm
  2. 2 real estate development jobs singapore Trackback on Thursday, July 23, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Leave a comment




Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,327,301 hits
October 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031