1 Room Flat

Look at the above floor plan…and you may ask where is the the Living Room (or Hall)? Maybe you will ask if this is a Studio Apartment? But when you look closer at the plan, the main door of one unit is directly opposite to the neighbour’s main door. You don’t find these configuration any more in the newer flats.

The Living Room is counted as one room, so it’s called 1 room flat. This is probably the 23 sq.m. type. You can imagined in the past, for those with big family – all of them squeezing into this 1 room flat sleeping on the floor.

See how they look like in real – door to door;

I’m not too sure if the inside of the above photos are still of 1 room flat type as I found these flats at Beach Road;

I remember I used to visit my cousin who was staying at Tronoh Road (off Lavender St.) in such 1 room flat. The narrow passageway was very dark and some were smelly as well. In the past, most of the kids were playing together outside and usually the doors were not closed. I myself had some experiences staying in such 1 room flat at my Auntie’s house at Mattar Road and later a 2 room flat (1 living hall and 1 bedroom)at Aljunied Road then.

Guess the early HDB flats were designed with minimum sizes and costs in mind. Also these were probably built in the 60s period, so they may be rushing for time to complete as many as possible.

Do you know why HDB called those without any bedroom a “1 room flat” and those with 2 bedroom and 1 living hall a “3 room flat”? It’s because like I’ve said earlier, the Living Hall is considered as 1 Bedroom.

34 Responses to “1 Room Flat”


  1. 1 Victor Koo Friday, August 24, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Any room that is bigger than a bathroom, a toilet or a storeroom and is NOT a kitchen is counted as a room by HDB. Hence this type of flat is called a “1-room flat”. It would be kind of funny to call it a “no-room flat”, right?

    Other places in Singapore where this type of flats can be found are at Banda Street (near Chinatown) and Jalan Bukit Merah near the “ABC” market or the old Bukit Merah SAFRA.

  2. 2 Lam Chun See Friday, August 24, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I used to visit my cousin who stayed in such a flat in Tiong Bahru/Redhill vicinity. I ever visit one of my soldiers (financial hardship case) in the 70’s who lived in the Chin Swee area. Similar type of flat I think.

  3. 3 sgalf Sunday, August 26, 2007 at 1:45 am

    There is one such block just behind Central Green Condo in the Kim Tian Area. (Blk 124 Kim Tian Place). There were many of these flats here but all has been demolished to make way for the newer HDB flats….except for this sole block.

    HDB rents out these flats to the financially disadvantaged group (Household income cannot exceed $1500 per month and many other rules).

    If your marital status is SINGLE, you need to find another eligible SINGLE to jointly apply to HDB to rent a 1 room flat. If you are unable to secure another SINGLE for the application, HDB WILL PAIR you up with a stranger!

    Remember….1 room flat, no private space, and 2 unrelated singles trying to put up with each other’s idiosyncrasies. (Potential trouble just waiting to happen…and may be fatal at times)

  4. 4 laokokok Monday, August 27, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Sad to say that though living conditions have improved over the years, but many many bad social habits have not improve at all! Everyday early morning and late night, my estate is full of rubbish (ppl litter and throw directly from the windows bags of rubbish, ppl just throw the junk mails on the floor when they take their letters, ppl just urinate at the dustbin, ppl just park their bikes at the void deck, footpath, and even park their cars at the void deck, etc….) and inconsiderate social acts…

    There is no improvement from those kampung days and in fact it’s worst. The hardware have improved but not the software. It’s such a shame!

  5. 5 Lois Friday, September 14, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Hi there, I need some photos of 1 room flats for recruitment for a community service proj. Can I use yr photos? Pls drop me an email. Thanks!

  6. 6 laokokok Monday, September 17, 2007 at 11:24 am

    Hi Lois, you may use any of the photos that belong to me. But those that have credits to others, you may check with them. Thanks.

  7. 7 Virginia Tuesday, November 13, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Hi,

    I am a single mother with a 6 month old baby and i am currently putting up at my sister’s place ina 1 room flat.
    Would anybody happen to know where i can rent a 1-room flat from at outside rate because the hdb do is unable to help me as i am only 28 yrs of age.

    Please help!!

  8. 8 geraldine Friday, June 13, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Hi

    My group of friends and i are working on a short film. We need to a one room flat like the one you have mentioned. do any one of you have any idea or lobang that i may use the unit for a 3 days shoot?

  9. 9 candice Monday, June 16, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    hi geraldine,

    can you provide some details on your film shoot? like which organisation are you from… for what purpose will the film be used for, etc etc…

    i have an aunt who lives in a one-room HDB flat in toa payoh…

  10. 10 geraldine Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Hi Candice,

    Thanks for your reply.

    My friends and I have graduated from Temasek Polytechnic with a Diploma in Interactive Media Design .

    We majored in video production, script/screenwriting, video editing and was also trained in 3d animation and multimedia design

    I joined Matrix Vision Pte Ltd after graduation as an assistant producer/director a year ago and currently we are working on an independent film.

    We are intending to shoot in mid July and we are still looking for a one room flat.

    It will be great if your aunt and you could offer your place to help us. If you wish to know more details, feel free to contact me through my email at gerlu.86@gmail.com

    Thanks

  11. 11 Tisu Girl Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    I just wrote about a friend’s experience growing up in a one-room flat (http://myitchyfingers.wordpress.com/2008/06/16/growing-up-in-a-one-room-flat/) and then i found this post….:) There are still some of these left at Chin Swee Road, Henderson and Chinatown area.

    Cheers,
    Tisu Girl

  12. 12 Sonu Kr. Singh Friday, November 25, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Dear Sir,
    I m living in one room flat,This is mine.I hv just married.
    There is a problem with me.The problem is when ever any guest will come,How will I manage .So what I can make build in one room flat that I can manage my guesting ?
    Pls help ?

  13. 13 Judith Tan Sunday, March 18, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Hey,

    I am writing about my childhood on my blog and wonder if I could put your blog link in my post? I need to show my readers (mostly from other parts of the world) what time of environment I grew up in. Are you ok with this?

    Thanks.

    Judy

  14. 14 adam72 Friday, September 14, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    I lived for 3 years in a 1.5rm rental flat in Redhill in the late 70s. Why 1.5rm? There is a normal sized room and a ‘1/2’ room that my family used as bedroom. The flat had since been torn down and in its place now are spanking new blocks just across Redhill MRT.

    Now I live in a 1st generation HDB flat nearby at Bt Ho Swee, built after the big fire in 1961, that is 48 yrs old. This flat of mine reminds me of my grandma’s flat at Tg Rhu where I lived for 5 yrs since birth, also about the same age and even the same interior orientation. Such is the link that my marital home now is a place I grew up in…

  15. 15 terrance chu wei kiat Wednesday, October 3, 2012 at 3:54 am

    how old then can rent from hdb 1room flat ?

  16. 16 conference room Tuesday, April 16, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your website in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, superb blog!

  17. 17 paphos car rental review Tuesday, May 7, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    And with the banking system or indeed of the country and
    people that Mustafa Emin Aga is saturated in.
    The island of Paphos Car Hire is probably the most rousing property
    investment opportunity in Europe right now. There are some
    rites of passage that we go through our day. Since it is the island for three more centuries passed before the Venetians took over.

    If you are conducting business globally and seeks the help of the hired car will probably be no.

  18. 18 Conference room Thursday, May 16, 2013 at 9:07 am

    I got this website from my buddy who told me about this site and now this time I am visiting this web site and reading very informative articles or reviews here.

  19. 19 Jimmy Tan Wei Siong Wednesday, October 9, 2013 at 12:36 am

    We pay the best part time salaries! Welcome Age 16 to 65 Singaporean PR Dependent Pass Holders ! who are low income to work as Servers, kitchen helpers,dishwashers,plates collectors,cleaners, general workers,.. in Hotels, and Restaurants, schools, condominiums, factories, others…u can chose to work any day and any hours you like! Transport and meals provided…(T & C Apply ) between 2pm to 6pm pls call Mdm Lim 8222 7183

  20. 20 New Condo Next To Redhill MRT Sunday, October 20, 2013 at 2:06 am

    It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  21. 21 IZ Mum Monday, April 28, 2014 at 10:01 am

    There are some of these flats near Jalan Besar.. King George’s, Bendemeer.. B.E.S.A.R Project doing house calls to these flats for Vesak day rations distribution to these families.

    http://izlernen-reise.blogspot.com/2014/04/besar-project.html

    http://english.thekchencholing.org/maude-project/

  22. 22 dbvehicleelectrics.com Saturday, September 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting
    things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I want to read even more things about it!

  23. 23 Serena Wednesday, October 1, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    My partner and Iabsolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m
    looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write
    content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write concerning
    here. Again, awesome weblog!

  24. 24 kaur Wednesday, February 18, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    Hi guys, I grew up in the early 90’s. Those days were my golden memories, lower cost of living, less foreigners. But now is the other way round. Hope Singapore pays more to her citizens. The newly build 1 room flats compared to the older ones are very small like prison in my mind.

  25. 25 Raine Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    Hi Guys, do you know the exact location for one room flats in Chinatown / Bukit Merah area? Thanks!

  26. 26 personalize shirts Saturday, November 21, 2015 at 1:40 pm

    Hi, I would like to subscribe for this webpage to obtain hottest updates,
    thus where can i do it please help.

  27. 27 www.my-music.it Sunday, November 22, 2015 at 8:13 am

    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to
    him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. I appreciate you for
    sharing!

  28. 28 shujuan76 Sunday, May 15, 2016 at 1:06 am

    Hey there, I’m looking for a 1-room flat for a student paid project, do you know anybody that’s willing to rent out their house? For me enquiries, please email me at jeaneta-bluffy@hotmail.com

    Will appreciate if anybody can help me with this, thanks!!

  29. 29 Henry Leong Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 11:04 am

    I used to sleep there

  30. 31 Rent a room Saturday, September 9, 2017 at 1:13 am

    For newest information you have to visit internet and on web I found this web site as a best web site for
    most recent updates.

  31. 32 games for kids local new zealand Sunday, February 17, 2019 at 10:02 am

    Hi friends, how is everything, and what you desire to say about
    this paragraph, in my view its really awesome in favor of me.

  32. 33 Fadil bin mohamed donan Wednesday, January 25, 2023 at 9:47 pm

    I want to rent 1 room flat hdb


  1. 1 Förebygga fång på häst Trackback on Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 1:17 pm

Leave a comment




Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,327,316 hits
August 2007
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031