Ticket to the Past (Part 1)

When I was surfing one of those online auction site, I came across the above. Yes, it’s like one of those bus ticket hole puncher used by the bus conductors.

Well these are probably the only 3 tickets left in my possession – somehow hidden inside one of those old textbooks!

I hate taking buses not only in the past but even now! I hated those bus conductors who shouted right at my ears and pushing their way from front to back and back to front. I hated those bus drivers who brake and accelerate, accelerate and brake every few seconds. I hated myself for being unable to balance myself on the bus. So I never like taking bus.

During my time 60s and 70s, I think I still find the STC buses around until they went burst in 1973. So what goes before STC? Frankly I’ve not much ideas until I see some of my old stamps and phonecards.

Below are 2 stamps issued in 1997 showing an Electric Tram and a Trolley Bus;

I also have an old phonecard showing an Electric Tram near the Fullerton Building;

And also an old SMRT card showing the trolley bus;

I’m not too sure why is there a Tay Koh Yat Bus form in my possession too;

So how real the above are (steam and electric tram, trolley bus), it’s up to our imagination as I’ve not seen them personally. But thanks to the internet, much infos about our past can be dug out.

…to be continued in Part 2.

0 Responses to “Ticket to the Past (Part 1)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Categories

Blog Directory & Search engine singapore blog directory
sgBlogs.com Personal Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
I am a Supporter of Yesterday.sg

Blog Stats

  • 1,327,387 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30